The Exa crypto card, read closely: virtual only, 1.5% off dollars, and a thin public fee page
If you are reading this, you are probably in the awkward position of someone who wants to spend crypto in the ordinary way — at a shop, on a website, in a restaurant — and who has found that ordinary bank cards are not opening for you. Residence rules, documentation, address history, name matching, sanctions screening: something in that chain has not worked. Exa is one of the cards that exists for that situation, and this is my review of what it actually is, what it costs, how you load it, and where it will let you down.
Exa is a virtual card, not a physical one. There is no plastic in the post, now or later, according to what the card states. It lives in Apple Pay and Google Wallet, it carries a USD balance, and it spends against crypto you hold yourself rather than against money a custodian holds for you. That self-custody model is the core of the appeal and the core of the risk.
The score is 6.2 out of 10. It is a middle-of-the-road card: the eligibility list is genuinely wide, the cost structure is simple and mostly transparent on one point, but the everyday experience is thin (virtual only, no cashback, a 3-minute claim that sits awkwardly next to an automated source-of-funds review above $10,000 a week) and the public information about fees, limits and support is patchy in exactly the places where you would want it.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 7 / 10 | 45 countries plus 31 US states; 18 countries ineligible, and spending is blocked in seven more |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | One clear number: 1.5% on payments not in USD; everything else is either included in a rate or unstated |
| Top-up options | 6 / 10 | USDC, ETH, wstETH, WBTC, OP as collateral, but the networks are not named anywhere I could find |
| Reliability and complaints | 5 / 10 | Issuer not named, no Trustpilot presence, Google Play rating low, and a 2023 exploit of the underlying protocol |
| Everyday use | 5 / 10 | Virtual only, Apple Pay and Google Wallet, and no cashback stated |
| Total | 6.2 / 10 | A workable card for a narrow reader, with several rough edges that are hard to check from outside |
The reader this suits is someone who already holds crypto in their own wallet, who understands that holding your own keys means also owning the risk of losing them, and whose only problem is turning that crypto into everyday payments. If you are that person, the card does one thing and does it plausibly. It does not suit someone who wants a physical card, who wants cash from ATMs as a matter of course, who expects cashback on spending, or who is putting a first crypto purchase on a card and wants the provider to hold it.
Will they give you the card
The answer is: probably yes, if you live in the right place — and the rule is by residence, not by citizenship alone.
Exa states the card is issued in 45 countries, naming Argentina, Brazil, Japan, Kenya, Mexico, Singapore, South Africa and the UAE among them, with Nigeria conditional. It is also issued in 31 US states. Eighteen countries are ineligible, and the list of those includes Belarus, China, India, Iran, Israel, Turkey, Ukraine, Vietnam and Russia. The card’s own line on Russia is explicit: Russian residents cannot be issued a card.
There is a second list you should know about, because it bites later and is easy to miss. Spending is blocked in Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. So even in a country where you can hold the card, travel to one of those and the card will not work — the difference between “cannot be issued” and “cannot be spent” is worth holding on to when you plan a trip.
One thing I would ask you to check before you read anything else: your status depends on where you live, not on where your documents are from. A resident of an eligible country with a passport from an ineligible one may be treated differently from a resident of the same country with a local passport. The card pages describe the test as residence-based, and citizenship screening is a separate matter that regulated issuers apply on their own terms. I am not going to guess how a given combination resolves; that is a question for the card’s own support before you send documents anywhere.
How to get it
The answer is: you download an app, add funds, and complete a check that the card says takes no more than 3 minutes.
The flow as described is short: download the Exa app, add funds, and pass a KYC check that is described as taking no more than 3 minutes. Requesting the card itself is a single validation step, described as no more than 3 minutes. There is a web version at web.exactly.app alongside the mobile app, and the documentation covers iOS and Android.
What the public pages do not say is as important as what they do. The documents required are not stated. Whether proof of address is required at sign-up is not stated. The minimum age is not stated here — as a general matter in this category, prepaid and debit cards go to adults, and some issuers set higher limits, so assume you need to be an adult and confirm your own situation rather than trusting a general rule. The specific verification levels are not stated either.
What *is* stated is the part that will matter if you start spending seriously. Above $10,000 in purchases in a week, an automated source-of-funds check begins: a form plus supporting documents. Raising limits requires proof of address and proof of funds. So the clean three-minute path is the small-spender path. The reason rejection happens is not stated, which is frustrating if you fail, because you will not be told which document or which mismatch did it.
One practical thing: you need funds in your account for the card to work at all. So the order is not “get the card, then decide what to put in it” — it is “get the account funded, then the card becomes useful”. That shapes the next few sections.
What you actually receive
A virtual card, named on the page as the Visa Signature Exa Credit Card. It is accepted at over 150 million merchants in more than 150 countries, which is the standard Visa acceptance claim. The card currency is USD. The card is stored in Apple Pay or Google Wallet.
“There are no physical cards available at the moment” is the card’s own sentence. The help centre does carry an article titled “Is there a physical card?” but the answer inside it was not available to me, so I will not paraphrase what I have not read. The practical consequence stands regardless: delivery and replacement do not apply to you, because there is nothing to post and nothing to lose in the post.
Fees: what it really costs
The answer is: one fee you can see clearly — 1.5% on any purchase not in USD, folded into the exchange rate — and a set of other costs that the public pages leave open.

Start with what is stated. The currency of the Exa Card is USD, and every purchase in a currency other than USD carries a 1.5% FX fee that is included in the rate rather than shown as a separate line. That is a genuinely useful way to do it: there is no second surprise on the statement. A loan origination fee may also be charged if you borrow rather than spend from your balance, and that fee is included in the installment interest.
Then the gaps. The card is marketed as free, with no amounts on the page; the help centre has an article called “Exa Card associated fees and costs” whose contents I could not read. ATM fees are not stated. Daily and monthly limits are not stated. A weekly purchase limit on the credit card side is $10,000. Multi-currency balances — holding euros or pounds rather than dollars — are not stated. Whether there is an inactivity fee, a declined-payment fee, or anything charged when a purchase is held at authorization: not stated.
| Item | What the card says |
|---|---|
| Issuance | Marketed as free, no amount on the page |
| Annual fee | Not stated on official pages |
| Conversion / FX | 1.5% on purchases not in USD, included in the rate |
| Loan origination fee | May be charged; included in installment interest |
| ATM | Not stated officially; unofficial figures given below |
| Card currency | USD |
| Weekly purchase limit | $10,000 (credit card purchases) |
| Daily and monthly limits | Not stated |
| Cashback | Not stated; the “Earn while you spend” wording refers to yield on assets |
The unofficial material, from CryptoCardHub, page updated August 2026, and not confirmed by Exa: virtual card issuance and annual fee of $0, and ATM withdrawals at $1 plus 0.65%, capped at $250 per withdrawal with four withdrawals a day. That last one also assumes a contactless NFC ATM and a PIN drawn from the app, and it warns the ATM operator may add their own fee. I am showing it to you because it answers a question the official pages leave open, not because it is a promise. Take it as a lead to verify, not as a term.
Now three ordinary payments, to show which of these actually touches you.
Coffee, your own country, paid in dollars. If you are spending in USD, the 1.5% does not appear. What you have is the conversion from whatever you hold in your account into dollars, and whether that costs you anything depends on how the account handles it — which the pages do not describe. The 1.5% is the only number in this review I would put on a receipt.
A hotel abroad, in euros. This is where the 1.5% lives. Every euro charge is converted at a rate that already contains the 1.5%. If the hotel also holds your card at authorization for a deposit, you are exposed twice: once to the FX fee on the hold, and once to the fact that a hold is not a settled payment.
A subscription bought in dollars. The cleanest case. USD purchase, no FX fee. But a subscription is the situation where an early cancellation or a failed renewal can leave a hold on your balance, and a hold can sit for days.
Top up
The answer is: you send crypto into your own self-custody account, and the card spends against it — the assets are named, the networks are not.

The account is self-custodial. Funds or collateral sit in the Exa App wallet that you control, and the card spends either directly through Pay Now or in installments against that collateral as a credit line. The documentation lists the supported assets as USDC, ETH, wstETH, WBTC and OP, these being the collateral assets in the Exactly Protocol markets. The networks are not named.
That unnamed network is the single most practical thing to sort out before your first transfer, and I want to be direct about why. Blockchain transfers are irreversible. If you send on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, the funds can be lost, or need manual support recovery with no guarantee of the outcome. This is not a theoretical worry: on Ethereum, gas fees are paid only in ETH, so a wallet holding USDC with no ETH cannot send at all. On Tron, fees are paid through bandwidth and energy, often burning TRX. And USDC over TRC20 is not a native option, because Circle stopped supporting USDC on Tron in February 2024. If you hold a token whose issuer disables it in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list — Tether says it does this — freezing is possible too. Stablecoins are not censorship-proof, whatever the marketing implies.
On costs, the official help articles read list only the FX fee and the loan origination fee in the associated-fees article. A deposit fee is not stated. A minimum top-up is not stated. Fiat on-ramp options and their fees are not stated. Unofficially, per CryptoCardHub in August 2026, crypto deposits carry no stated fee and fiat on-ramp fees vary by third-party route and country. Separately, remember that the on-chain network fee for your deposit is charged by the blockchain, not by the card provider.
Getting money back out is where the public information thins out most. The site says funds can be sent to a bank account or a digital wallet, and that money can be withdrawn from ATMs. Fees, limits and timelines are not given, and what happens to a remaining balance when you close the account is not stated. If you are considering this card, that last gap is the one I would ask about in writing before you rely on it.
Paying with it every day
The answer is: it works like any contactless card in a wallet, it settles a purchase one to three days later, and there is no cashback stated.
Adding the card to Apple Pay and Google Wallet is supported — the help centre carries articles for both. Whether any spending categories are restricted is not stated. Because the card is a tokenised number in a mobile wallet, it is not a magnetic-stripe card in a reader’s eyes: Apple Pay replaces the card number with a device-specific number stored in the phone’s secure element, and each payment carries a one-time code. That is a genuine security advantage over handing over a plastic number.
Two Visa-specific behaviours are worth knowing before a payment declines on you. First, a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another: merchants can look up the issuing institution and country from the card’s first six or eight digits, and may apply extra scrutiny when the issuer country differs from your billing address. Some merchants decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards for exactly that reason. Second, Address Verification Service — which compares the numeric parts of the billing address you type against issuer records — is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK, and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards. That alone can cause declines on an online purchase. It is not a trick you can avoid; it is a structural property of a virtual card issued in the US and used elsewhere.
Settlement timing is stated plainly: a purchase is placed on hold at authorization and completes, usually one to three days later, and the final amount can differ from the authorised one — tips, hotel holds and exchange-rate moves are the named reasons. A declined authorisation may also leave a hold on funds that can remain for several days, typically up to seven. Plan your balance around holds, not around the amount on the till.
On rewards, the honest reading is that there is no cashback stated. The “Earn while you spend” wording on the site refers to yield on your assets, not to rebates on purchases. The help centre does list Visa Signature benefits, 20% off AirloeSIMs, and a US activation reward: spend $100, get $20 in XRP via Uphold. Unofficially, per CryptoCardHub in August 2026, no current cashback is confirmed and an earlier 1.5% USDC cashback is unverified and historical. My read: do not build a rewards case around this card.
App quality is the one place where the two sources openly disagree, and both are small samples. Officially, store ratings are not stated. Unofficially, in August 2026: Apple App Store 5.0 out of 5 from 4 ratings, Google Play 2.7 out of 5 from 58 ratings. Four ratings is not a track record. Fifty-eight is a louder one.
Disputes, refunds and chargebacks are not stated. As background worth carrying: a chargeback is a refund ordered by the card issuer to settle a dispute, with reason codes for fraud, duplicate billing or goods not received. US rights differ by card type — Regulation E covers debit cards, Regulation Z covers credit cards — and prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed. You are spending from collateral here, which sits somewhere between the two models in ordinary life; ask what applies to you rather than inferring it.
What can go wrong
The answer is: several specific and checkable things, mostly around the provider being a layer between you and the bank that actually issues the card.
You cannot tell who issues it. Exa Labs SAS is named in the site footer. The cards are described as issued by licensed third parties, and the help centre says the Exa Card is issued in the United States, with a US legal address in San Juan, PR, provided by Rain. The issuer bank is not named. Exa Labs states that it does not issue payment instruments. That is not automatically alarming — plenty of legitimate programmes run exactly this shape, with a licensed partner holding the card programme — but it means the entity you would complain to and the entity that carries your balance may not be the same one, and neither is named clearly.
Self-custody cuts both ways. Control of crypto belongs to whoever holds the private key or seed phrase, and a seed phrase — typically twelve to twenty-four words — is an unencrypted form of that key: anyone who obtains it can restore the wallet and spend the funds. Transfers are typically irreversible and a stolen key has no built-in recovery, because the network cannot freeze or return funds. That is the trade you accept. What Exa adds is that the account is described as secured with passkeys, with an optional second account owner, and with borrowing and spending running on non-custodial smart contracts. Audits and insurance are not mentioned. Freeze-in-app and spending controls are not stated — there is an article called “What is the Account Health?” whose contents I could not read.
The underlying protocol has been through an incident. A third party, cryptocards.so, reports a $7.3 million exploit of the Exactly Protocol in August 2023. This is about the protocol the collateral markets sit on, not a statement about your funds on any given day, and it comes from a single unofficial source. It is still the kind of thing that belongs in a risk note.
Complaints are thin and pointed. No Trustpilot page was found for exactly.app, and no Reddit reviews either. cryptocards.so, rating the platform 5.7 out of 10, cites KYC failures for African users, particularly in Nigeria, no documented support SLA, and exclusion of 24 US states — note that against the card’s own 31-state figure. KYC failures are the recurring theme in the category: if due diligence cannot be completed, EU rules require the institution to refrain from the transaction or the relationship and, where necessary, end existing relationships. That is why accounts close or freeze pending documents. It is a rule, not a punishment, and it is the single most common way people get stuck.
Support has no stated turnaround. There is a Help Centre at intercom.help/exa-app and help.exactly.app, and an X account at @Exa_App. No documented response times.
Programme closure is a real category risk. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied several crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme. Closures typically follow a pattern: a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. One 2026 closure reported by a secondary source — single source, unconfirmed — ended new loads on 8 July 2026 and spending on 8 August 2026. The lesson generalises: keep your balance small enough that you could withdraw it in a hurry.
Regulation may reshape the product. In the EU, MiCA took legal effect in June 2023; rules on asset-referenced tokens and e-money tokens applied from 30 June 2024, with the remaining provisions, including crypto-asset service provider rules, applying from 30 December 2024. Under MiCA, e-money tokens may be issued only by a credit institution or an electronic money institution. Transitional provisions run until 1 July 2026 or until a provider gets or is refused authorisation, whichever comes first, and ESMA keeps an interim register of authorised providers, white papers and non-compliant entities. A card is regulated separately from the crypto side, so a crypto card often depends on two licences. In the US, FinCEN guidance treats administrators and exchangers of convertible virtual currency as money transmitters, while people simply buying goods and services are not. None of this tells you what will happen to this card. It tells you the ground is moving under the whole category.
Sanctions cut both ways. Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity. Nationality is recorded and screened separately from residence because sanctions screening and issuer risk policy are applied to citizenship and country of birth as well as address. Practically: keep your account details accurate, and expect questions.
Taxes are yours. The IRS treats digital assets as property, so exchanging them for goods, services or dollars generally produces a taxable gain or loss. For personal holdings that is a capital gain or loss, short-term if held a year or less, measured in local fiat currency at the fair market value on the transaction date. Each card payment funded from crypto may therefore be a separate disposal. I am not going to tell you what you owe or how to handle it — that is between you and a professional who knows your situation.
What to take instead
Three alternatives are often cited, and they succeed in different places.
Sponge, 4.9 out of 10. A virtual card created in the app, described as a credit card issued by Rain, a Visa Principal Member, accepted wherever Visa is accepted. USDC collateral moves from the Sponge wallet with a card fund command, with base as the example chain and base or solana mentioned as optional in the SDK. What is missing is the same thing that is missing from Exa and worse: no country list on the card pages (the platform terms set a minimum age of 13 for the service, which is a different matter entirely), no cost figures, no fees stated, no rewards stated. It scores lowest of the four, mainly because there is even less to check.
Nexo, 6.3 out of 10. The most conventional of the three, and the one whose eligibility test is citizenship *and* residence: residents and citizens of selected European countries including the EEA and the United Kingdom, with excluded jurisdictions not named. It offers both virtual and physical cards, issued by DiPocket UAB. No monthly, annual or inactivity fee; the virtual card needs at least $50 in the account to activate; the physical card is free to ship but requires a balance above $5,000 in digital assets and at least Gold tier. Fees are the sharpest contrast with Exa: FX of 0.2% on weekdays in the EEA, UK and Switzerland against 2% in the rest of the world, 0.7% and 2.5% at weekends; crypto conversion fee not stated. Over 100 digital assets supported, cashback in Credit Mode only and only above $5,000 in digital assets, from 0.5% to 2% by tier in NEXO tokens. One thing outside the official pages: Cointelegraph reported a 2025-era Bulgarian police raid on Nexo’s Sofia office over alleged sanctions and anti-money-laundering violations, with no official statement from Nexo about any Russians found. If you are reading that as a risk signal, treat it as one signal from a news source, not a finding.
Xplace, 7.7 out of 10 — the highest score here, for a reason. Visa, virtual instantly and physically, with the Silver tier live and Gold and Platinum described as coming soon at 7 to 14 business days’ delivery. Cash mode spends a stablecoin balance, Credit mode borrows against holdings. Deposits in BTC (cbBTC), ETH (wETH), SOL, JitoSOL, USDC, USDT and xStocks on the Solana network — which is a real answer to the “which network” gap that Exa leaves. Annual fees are stated and they are not small: Basic free, Silver $99 a year, Gold $249, Platinum $999, with no borrowing origination fee. “0% FX on Platinum” is the headline; FX for other tiers and the conversion fee are not stated. Cashback in Credit mode runs by tier from 0.5% to 2%, paid in USDC to the wallet at settlement. What it does not tell you: the country list. “Services are not available in all jurisdictions” is the whole statement, and Visa acceptance is quoted at 160+ countries.
| Exa | Sponge | Nexo | Xplace | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 6.2 / 10 | 4.9 / 10 | 6.3 / 10 | 7.7 / 10 |
| Physical card | No | No | Yes, above $5,000 and Gold tier | Silver live; others coming |
| Countries | 45 plus 31 US states | Not stated | Selected European, incl. EEA and UK | Not stated |
| Stated fees | 1.5% on non-USD | Not stated | FX 0.2%–2.5% by region and day | 0% FX on Platinum; tiers $0–$999 a year |
| Rewards | Not stated | Not stated | Cashback in Credit Mode, $5,000+ | Cashback 0.5%–2% in Credit Mode |
The pattern I take from this: Exa’s neighbours are not uniformly better. Xplace says more and costs more. Nexo says more and restricts you to Europe and to a $5,000 balance for the card people actually want. Sponge says less than Exa. If the reason you are here is eligibility, Exa’s 45 countries and 31 US states is a genuine argument for it, and the honest comparison is not with the best card but with the other cards you would actually be accepted for.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend this card to someone in three specific circumstances. First, you already hold crypto yourself and understand what a seed phrase is, because this card does not remove that responsibility — it hands it to you. Second, your problem is eligibility for an ordinary bank card and Exa covers where you live. Third, you are content to spend digitally through your phone, hold a small balance, and accept that you will not earn cashback.
I would point someone else elsewhere. If you need a physical card, this is the wrong product — there is no plan for one. If you need cash regularly, the ATM terms are not stated officially and the unofficial ones come with conditions attached. If you are new to crypto and want the provider to custody it, self-custody is a hardening exercise, not a convenience. If you are in one of the 18 ineligible countries, stop. If you are planning to travel through one of the seven blocked-spend countries, stop. And if your plan depends on cashback, on a specific limit, or on a fee you cannot see, ask the card in writing first — because I could not find those numbers published, and you should not discover them at the till.
My score is 6.2 out of 10, and the reason is not that the card is bad. It is that it is narrow, and the parts of it that are narrow are the parts the marketing does not dwell on.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Exa card?
The Exa card is a virtual payment card that spends crypto you hold yourself. It is a Visa Signature Exa Credit Card, issued in the United States, with no physical version available at the moment. The card lives in Apple Pay or Google Wallet, its currency is USD, and it is accepted wherever Visa is accepted. Spending draws on collateral in your own self-custody account rather than on money a bank holds for you.
How does the Exa card work?
You hold crypto in a self-custody Exa App account and the card spends against it, either directly through Pay Now or in installments against the collateral as a credit line. A purchase is held at authorization and settles, usually one to three days later, with the final amount sometimes different. Supported collateral assets are USDC, ETH, wstETH, WBTC and OP. The networks you can deposit on are not named.
Is Exa a bank?
No. Exa Labs SAS runs the platform and states that it does not issue payment instruments. The cards are issued by licensed third parties, and the help centre says the card is issued in the United States, with a US legal address in San Juan, PR provided by Rain. The issuer bank is not named. If that distinction matters to you, ask before you rely on the card.
In which countries can I use Exa?
The card is issued in 45 countries, including Argentina, Brazil, Japan, Kenya, Mexico, Singapore, South Africa and the UAE, with Nigeria conditional, and in 31 US states. Eighteen countries are ineligible, including Belarus, China, India, Iran, Israel, Turkey, Ukraine, Vietnam and Russia. Spending is separately blocked in Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Ukraine and Venezuela. The test is residence.
Does the Exa card require KYC?
Yes. You add funds and pass a KYC check the card describes as taking no more than 3 minutes. The specific documents and whether proof of address is needed at sign-up are not stated on the public pages. Above $10,000 in weekly purchases, an automated source-of-funds review starts, needing a form plus supporting documents.
What does the Exa card cost?
The one clearly stated charge is a 1.5% fee on every purchase not in USD, folded into the exchange rate rather than shown separately. A loan origination fee may be charged and is included in installment interest. The card is marketed as free with no amount published. ATM fees, daily and monthly limits are not stated officially; unofficial figures from August 2026 give issuance and annual fee at $0.
How do I add the Exa card to Apple Wallet?
The help centre carries a dedicated article for adding the card to Apple Pay, and Google Wallet is supported too. The card is virtual only, so the wallet is the card. When you pay, Apple Pay substitutes a device-specific number stored in the phone’s secure element rather than your card number, with a one-time code each time. One practical warning: online address checks often fail on foreign-issued cards, which causes declines.
Can I withdraw money from the Exa card?
The site says funds can be sent to a bank account or a digital wallet, and that money can be withdrawn from ATMs. Fees, limits and timelines are not given, and what happens to a leftover balance on closure is not stated. Unofficially, per CryptoCardHub in August 2026, withdrawals cost $1 plus 0.65%, capped at $250, four a day, needing a contactless NFC ATM and an app PIN.
Is the Exa card safe?
It depends on what you mean. The account is self-custodial and described as secured with passkeys, with borrowing and spending on non-custodial smart contracts; audits and insurance are not mentioned. In exchange you own the risk of key loss and of irreversible transfers. The provider layer adds its own uncertainty: issuer unnamed, no documented support SLA, KYC failures reported for African users, and a $7.3 million exploit of the Exactly Protocol in August 2023.
Is the Exa card worth it?
For me, only in a narrow case: you already self-custody crypto, you cannot get an ordinary card, and digital-only spending suits you. Against it: no physical card, no cashback stated, ATM terms unpublished, and most fees and limits unstated on the public pages. The honest answer for most people is that one of the alternatives states more, or that a card with published terms costs less to worry about.
Credit and cashback cards put to the test – cryptocardtested
Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team
