The exchange is closing, so the card goes with it
There is a particular kind of crypto card review that is harder to write than the rest, and this is one of them. Most cards arrive with a fee table, a cashback rate and a list of supported countries, and the reviewer’s job is to weigh those numbers against the reputational record of the firm behind them. The BitMart card cannot be reviewed that way, because the firm is shutting down. On 26 July 2026 the exchange announced a phased closure: trading stops on 26 August 2026, and the platform is planned to cease operations on 31 January 2027. A card that spends directly from a balance held inside that exchange cannot outlive the exchange by very much. My score for the BitMart card is 3.7 out of 10, and that mark has almost nothing to do with how the card worked while it worked — the fees were low, the ATM cashback was the best in this category, and the virtual card was genuinely convenient. It is a score for a product with no future, offered by a company that is currently telling its users to withdraw.
If you are reading this and you already hold a BitMart card, the honest summary is that your problem is no longer which card to apply for. It is getting your money out. That is the section I would read first. If you are shopping, this page is here to save you the wasted afternoon: the card cannot be recommended to anyone new, and there are three alternatives below worth your time instead.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
What happened to the BitMart card programme
The short version: BitMart stopped being a place you can reasonably plan around. Here is the sequence, because the dates are the part that matters most for anyone with money still on the platform.
- 23 July 2026 — a separate notice goes out to identified US users.
- 26 July 2026 — the phased shutdown is announced. Trading ends 26 August 2026; platform operations are planned to end 31 January 2027.
- 26 August 2026 — the deadline for general users to submit verification requests, close positions and file withdrawal requests.
- 31 January 2027 — the planned end of trading-platform operations.
There are two things I want to flag before you read further, because they change how much weight to put on anything else on this page.
The first is that the shutdown dates come from BitMart’s own announcements as reported in the news, and I could not confirm them against the official card pages, which do not say anything about closure. The card page still describes a live product: three card types, cashback rates, daily limits, an ATM fee. In other words, the marketing and the news contradict each other, and I would trust the news. That is not alarmism; it is just what happens when a company stops updating its front page while its notices go out by email.
The second is a detail worth pausing on. Forklog reported the founder denying misappropriating user funds, and I found no official regulatory action against the company. So I am not going to tell you this is a theft or a fraud — nothing in what I read supports that, and rumours are exactly the wrong thing to amplify when people are trying to get their money out. But “no wrongdoing proven” and “your withdrawal will arrive on time” are two different sentences, and only one of them is true here.
For context on why exchanges closing matters more than it sounds: card programme closures follow a recognisable pattern. There is a notice period, then spending and loading stop, then users are asked to withdraw whatever is left. One 2026 closure reported by a secondary source, unconfirmed, had new loads ending 8 July 2026 and spending stopping 8 August 2026. That is the template, and BitMart is running inside it.
If you already have the BitMart card
This is the section I would put first if the page were ordered by usefulness rather than by how the story reads.
The card is custodial, and that single fact explains almost everything about your situation. Your crypto sits in your BitMart exchange account, and the card draws on that balance. It was never a self-custody-linked card where the funds stay in your own wallet until the moment of payment. When the exchange account becomes hard to access, the card balance goes with it, because the card balance was never really separate.
What the card page says about cashing out is less than you would hope. There is no stated policy for withdrawing money from the card balance, no stated fee for doing so, no stated processing time. The help centre lives at support.bitmart.com, and I could not find a stated withdrawal process for card funds on the pages I read.
What is known comes from outside the official pages, and I want to be clear that it is not official. A OneKey guide dated 7 August 2026 — not a BitMart publication — describes withdrawals being held for review, with checks around KYC, source of funds, address ownership, the Travel Rule and sanctions screening. That guide puts the general-user deadline for submitting withdrawal requests at 26 August 2026 and the planned end of platform operations at 31 January 2027. It does not mention the BitMart card at all, which is its own kind of information: the card simply is not the subject of the withdrawal conversation. Your route out is the exchange, not the card.
What I can tell you from the complaint record, which I read on 20 October 2026: Trustpilot showed 2.3 out of 5 from 2,915 reviews, 66 of them in the last twelve months. The themes are consistent and recent. Users report withdrawals blocked or failing after the wind-down announcement, with reviews dated 3 September, 18 September, 9 October and 11 October 2026. Others report support going silent for anywhere from a week to a month across August and September 2026. Deposits not being credited, or still being accepted after the suspension was announced, appear in August and October 2026. Several people say they got no direct notice of the closure. One review describes 280,000 USD blocked, and a Hungarian company with roughly 80,000 USD unreleased since 26 July. There are fraud allegations in the mix, and those remain unverified.
I want to be careful not to turn that into a number I invented. What I will say is that a support channel which goes quiet for a month, in the middle of a wind-down, is a worse problem than a 1.3% transaction fee ever was. Prepare for the possibility that support does not answer, and plan around that rather than hoping it does not happen.
There is one more layer I cannot resolve, and it is the one that should make you most cautious. The card page does not name the issuer, the legal entity or any licence. I am not going to guess at who stands behind the plastic. But it means something specific: when the programme manager and the platform are winding down, the questions of who holds your money and under what rules do not have a public answer. Ask that question in writing and keep the reply. Where you can, move funds to a wallet or exchange you control rather than to another destination inside the same platform.
Practically, my reading of the sequence is this:
- Get your exchange withdrawal requests in early. The stated deadline is 26 August 2026, but that is a deadline for filing, not for receiving.
- Have your documents ready: identity, proof of address, and anything relating to the source of your funds, because the checks described in that non-official guide are exactly the ones that slow things down.
- Do not leave crypto sitting on the exchange hoping for a better rate. The platform’s own end date is 31 January 2027.
- Treat anything that requires a support response as the weakest link in your plan.
- Do not top the card up. Loading funds into a card whose platform is closing is the one move that makes things worse.
None of that is legal or tax advice, and I am not qualified to give you either. If your balance is large enough that the tax treatment matters — and note that each payment funded from crypto can be a separate disposal in many jurisdictions — that is a conversation for a professional, not a review page.
What can go wrong
Let me separate risks that apply to the card as a product from risks that are now simply the risks of the exchange. It is worth doing that, because the product risks are real but bounded, and the platform risks are the ones that will actually cost you money.
The product risks, as they stood:
- The card is Visa, settling in USD, with a 1.3% transaction fee on all three types. Your balance is converted to USD in real time at the moment of purchase. The fee for paying in a currency other than USD is not stated beyond that 1.3%, and multi-currency balances are not offered.
- Funding is from your BitMart balance in USDT, USDC, BTC, ETH, SOL, ADA, BMX, XRP, LTC, DOGE, TON or BNB. The card page does not name which networks those tokens are drawn from, which matters more than it sounds — blockchain transfers are irreversible, and a deposit sent on a network the provider does not support can be lost or need manual recovery with no guarantee attached.
- Identity Verification Level 2 was required, with extra documents possible and proof of address needed. The age requirement is not stated. The card page does not say what the lower KYC levels unlock, how long processing takes, or on what grounds an application is rejected.
- Blocked merchant categories are not stated, which for a prepaid crypto card is a genuine unknown rather than a detail.
- There is no dispute or chargeback section on the card page. So if a shop takes your money and does not deliver, the page gives you nothing to work with.
- Apple Pay is not mentioned. Google Pay works for the virtual card only.
- Delivery of the physical cards is not specified — no countries, no time, no cost, no replacement cost. The page says only that physical cards ship and can be tracked in the account.
- 2FA, in-app freeze, spending controls and insurance: not stated.
- On top of that, the app itself scored 2.9 out of 5 from 3.5K ratings in the US App Store listing, read on 20 October 2026. The interface languages include Russian, Turkish and Ukrainian. A closed platform is unlikely to be maintaining that app.
The platform risks are shorter and heavier. Custodial means your money is at the mercy of a company in wind-down. Holding funds with a custodian carries counterparty risk, and history is not reassuring: Mt. Gox reported about US$350 million stolen between 2011 and 2014, Coincheck about US$400 million in 2018, and the Ronin Network US$625 million in 2022. Stablecoins are not a refuge from this either — Tether describes disabling tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and freezing funds tied to illicit activity.
What about the fees themselves? The virtual card was free, the plastic cost US$70 and the metal Platinum US$120, with no annual fee on any of them. That is genuinely competitive, and it is the strongest argument that could once have been made for this card.
| Tier | Application | Daily limit | ATM | Annual fee | Transaction fee |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Virtual | $0 | $10,000 | No ATM | 0 | 1.3% |
| BitMart Card (plastic) | $70 | $50,000 | 2% | 0 | 1.3% |
| Platinum (metal) | $120 | Unlimited | 1.5% | 0 | 1.3% |
Monthly limits are not stated. The cashback was the genuinely interesting part: 4.0% on online shopping in the first month and 3.5% from month two, and 5.5% on grocery and dining in the first month, 5.0% from there. The payout asset is not stated. Third-party descriptions of that cashback disagree with the official ranges — U.Today says “up to 5.5%”, ChainCatcher says 1–10% by tier and merchant, CryptoCardHub says 1–3.5% standard with up to 10% in promotions. I would not plan around any of those unofficial figures.
One more risk deserves a line because it is the kind people forget. When a card is declined, the hold on your funds can remain for several days, typically up to seven. On a card spending from an exchange balance you are trying to empty, a lingering hold is not a rounding error.
What to take instead
Since the BitMart card cannot be recommended, the useful question becomes: what else exists, and which of these is a better use of your time? Here are the three I looked at, and I want to be upfront that they are not all equally documented. The pattern you will notice is that the more serious an operator is, the more it publishes; BitMart’s silence is the anomaly, not the rule.
Young Card — 5.7 out of 10. Thinner information: country eligibility, card type, cost and fees are all not stated officially. The one solid detail is that cashback is paid in YNG tokens at a rate set by Club tier — Essential 0.1%, Gold 1.8%, Platinum 3.6% — with Bronze and Silver not stated. Cashback in a platform token is a thing to think about carefully before finding it attractive.
MSX — 6.4 out of 10. Almost nothing is stated officially: eligibility, card type, cost, fees, funding, rewards. I am including it for completeness, not as a recommendation.
Bybit Card — 6.0 out of 10, and the one I would actually spend time on, because it publishes.
Here is how the comparison looks.
| Card | Score | Card type | Who can get it | Fees published | Rewards |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| BitMart | 3.7 | Virtual, plastic, metal Visa | Country list not stated; “all BitMart users can apply” | 1.3% transaction; ATM 1.5–2% | 3.5% online, 5.0% grocery/dining |
| Young Card | 5.7 | Not stated officially | Not stated | Not stated | YNG tokens by Club tier |
| MSX | 6.4 | Not stated officially | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Bybit Card | 6.0 | Virtual and physical, Mastercard or Visa by region | Named regional list; EEA excluded | 0.5–0.9% conversion, 1–7% FX | 2% to 10% by tier, USDT |
Bybit, specifically:
- Where. The official help centre lists Argentina, AIFC (Kazakhstan), Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia, Mexico, Brazil, Peru and Asia Pacific. The application asks for your country of residence; if it is unsupported, Bybit says it will register your interest. The cards page is blunt about one thing: “This product is not meant for European Economic Area customers. All European Economic Area customer participation is strictly prohibited.” Bybit’s separate restricted list for its fiat services — deposits, withdrawals and One-Click Buy, not the card itself — includes Belarus, the Russian Federation, Serbia, China and the United States, and says Russian users can only make RUB transactions in fiat. I found no card-specific statement on Russian or Belarusian citizens, and no rule distinguishing citizenship from residence. The card’s currency depends on the country of your Advanced Identity Verification.
- What you get. A virtual card first, then physical — which is not available in Peru and rolls out in phases. Mastercard prepaid in Argentina; Mastercard credit card as written in their table for AIFC, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia and Mexico; Visa prepaid in Brazil and Peru; Visa credit in Asia Pacific. Currency is USD for AIFC, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Australia and Asia Pacific; ARS in Argentina; MXN in Mexico; BRL in Brazil; PEN or USD in Peru. Cards are valid three years in most regions, six in Argentina, five in Brazil, Mexico and Peru.
- Cost. Virtual issuance is free in every region “until further notice”, and there is no annual or cancellation fee listed. Physical: Australia 29.99 USD, Argentina 5 USD or USDT, Georgia 29.99 USDT, Kazakhstan (AIFC) 29.99 USDT, Asia Pacific 5 USDT, nothing in Brazil or Mexico. VIPs holding a physical card in Australia, Kazakhstan (AIFC), Georgia or Asia Pacific pay no issuance or replacement fee.
- Fees. Crypto conversion 0.9% over the One-Click Sell rate across Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Brazil and Mexico; 0.5% in Argentina; not supported in Peru. FX fees on top of the network rate: 2% for Australia, Asia Pacific, Georgia and Mexico; 2% international fee in Kazakhstan (AIFC) on purchases outside Kazakhstan even in USD; 7% in Argentina; 1.5% in Brazil; 1% in Peru. FX padding is 0% for the Australia group and Mexico, 5% in Argentina, 1% in Brazil, and the excess is refunded. Argentina adds VAT of 21% on foreign digital services, a 30% tax on foreign transactions, and provincial gross-income tax of 1%–13.2%.
- How you pay with it. There is no card balance of its own. It draws on the Funding Account and the Flexible Easy Earn balance, fiat first; if fiat runs short, crypto is sold at the One-Click Sell rate plus the card conversion fee. Supported: BTC, ETH, XRP, USDT, USDC and GRAM, in that default order, reorderable in the Card Dashboard.
- Rewards. From 5 October 2026 at 10:00 UTC, only crypto-funded transactions earn points or cashback — fiat-funded spending does not. Tiers run Base 2.00% up to Infinite 10%, with monthly caps from 5 USD to 600 USD and monthly spend thresholds from nothing to 25,000 USD. Points pend four calendar days; cashback in USDT equals points × 0.002, and Auto Cashback must be on. There is a welcome offer of 10% cashback up to 110 USDT in the first 30 days, and a 20 USDT referral bonus.
The honest caveat: Bybit’s regional structure means most readers will fall into either a named region or the “not supported” bucket, and its exclusion of the EEA is strict. Check your own country against their list before you invest any time.
Who I would recommend it to
Nobody, for a new application. That is the short answer and I do not think it needs softening.
I would recommend it to exactly one group, and they are not really choosing it — they are dealing with it: existing cardholders whose BitMart balance is still sitting on the platform, who should treat the card as an exit mechanism and a source of questions to ask in writing, not as a product with a future. The cashback tiers I described are real, and I am sorry to end on a note that makes them irrelevant. They were a genuinely good deal. The deal is not what failed here.
The circumstances that would have made this card worth recommending no longer exist, and no fee schedule brings them back. If you were attracted by 5.5% grocery cashback with a 1.5% ATM fee and no annual charge, understand that you are not choosing between cards any more; you are choosing between a platform with a published end date and one without. Bybit publishes its regions, its fees, its FX treatment and its reward tiers in detail. BitMart published a card page and, separately, a closure announcement.
If you are in a country where a normal bank card is difficult to get, the situation I was asked to review for is genuinely real, and I do not want this page to read as though the difficulty is your fault. It is not. But the answer to “I cannot get an ordinary card” is a provider with current documentation and a named issuing entity — not a card attached to a closing exchange. And if nothing on my list covers your country, an issuer that publishes its own restricted-country list is a better starting point than one that does not.
One last thing about the nature of these products, which matters more than any single card. A crypto card number starts with an issuer identification number of six or eight digits, and merchants can look it up to see which institution and country issued it. That is why a card issued in one country can look foreign to a shop in another, and why some merchants decline prepaid or foreign numbers. Address verification, which compares the numeric parts of the billing address with issuer records, is mainly offered in the US, Canada and the UK and is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards — a common cause of declines. None of this is a trick you can route around, and none of it should be presented to you as something to work around. It is context for why the card you choose matters, and why an issuer that names itself is worth something.
Frequently asked questions
What actually happened to the BitMart card?
The exchange behind it is closing. BitMart announced a phased shutdown on 26 July 2026: trading ends 26 August 2026 and platform operations are planned to end 31 January 2027. General users were given 26 August 2026 to file verification, close positions and request withdrawals. The card itself spends directly from your BitMart exchange balance, so it cannot meaningfully outlive the platform it draws on. Those dates come from announcements rather than the card page, which still describes a live product.
Is BitMart a bank?
No, and the card page does not name one. The issuer, the legal entity behind the card and any licence are all not stated on the official pages, which is unusual. In this category the card network is usually separate from the brand: Visa or Mastercard routes the payments and sets the rules, while a licensed bank or e-money institution holds the programme and the crypto brand is often just the front end. When none of that is named, you cannot tell who your counterparty is.
Who owns BitMart?
The founder denied misappropriating user funds, as Forklog reported, and I found no official regulatory action against the company. So there is no basis for calling this a fraud, and reports alleging one should be treated as unverified. That said, an absence of proven wrongdoing is not the same as a guarantee that your withdrawal will arrive promptly. The complaint record shows blocks and delays after the wind-down announcement, not convictions.
Can I still get a BitMart card?
You should not try, and the economics are the reason rather than a technical block. The exchange is winding down, so there is nothing durable to hold an account against. Even setting that aside, the country list is not stated, the issuer is not named, and there is no dispute or chargeback process described. If you want a crypto-spending card, the alternatives section covers three that publish their terms, one of them in useful detail.
Does the BitMart card require KYC?
Yes, and at the higher level. Identity Verification Level 2 was required for the card, with extra documents possible and proof of address required. The age minimum is not stated, and neither are processing times, rejection reasons or what the lower KYC levels unlock. The wider reason this matters now: rules like these are exactly what slow down a withdrawal, and a non-official August 2026 guide describes withdrawals being held for review for KYC, source of funds, address ownership, Travel Rule and sanctions reasons.
How do I get my money off BitMart?
Treat the exchange as the route, not the card. No withdrawal process for the card balance is stated on the card page. The dates to work back from are 26 August 2026 as the stated deadline for filing withdrawal requests and 31 January 2027 as the planned end of platform operations. Have identity and proof-of-address documents ready, and expect verification questions about the source of your funds. If support goes quiet, which the complaint record suggests it does, plan on needing retries rather than assuming a first answer.
Was the BitMart card good value while it worked?
The fees, yes, genuinely. Application was free for the virtual card, US$70 for plastic and US$120 for the metal Platinum card, with no annual fee on any of them and a 1.3% transaction fee. Cashback ran to 3.5% online and 5.0% on grocery and dining after the first month, and the Platinum card’s 1.5% ATM fee was the lowest in the lineup. Daily limits were $10,000 on the virtual card, $50,000 on plastic and unlimited on Platinum. None of that changes where the platform is heading.
Is the BitMart card safe to use?
Not now, and not because of anything specific to card security. The card is custodial — the money sits in the exchange account and the card draws on it — so the risk is counterparty risk concentrated in a firm in wind-down. Two-Factor Authentication, in-app freeze, spending controls and insurance are not stated on the card page. Holders report blocked withdrawals, silent support and deposits accepted after suspension. If you hold funds here, the safer direction is off the platform.
Can I add the BitMart card to Apple Wallet?
The virtual card could be added to Google Pay; Apple Pay is not mentioned anywhere on the card page. Physical cards had ATM access, though only at machines carrying the Visa logo, and the ATM fees were 2% on the plastic card and 1.5% on Platinum. A homepage banner mentioned fee-free ATM withdrawals with unclear conditions, quoted elsewhere as free between 200 and 1,000 USD per month and 2% after that. None of this is available now in any meaningful sense.
Is BitMart Card worth it, and can I close my account?
On the first question, no — there is no version of this card worth applying for while the platform is closing. On closing your account, no process is stated on the card page, and the help centre is at support.bitmart.com. Given the complaint themes around accounts being frozen and support going quiet for weeks, treat any closure request as one that may need following up rather than one that will be processed on first contact. Withdraw your balance first; closing an account with funds still on it can make recovery harder, not easier.
Exchange cards put to the test – cryptocardtested
Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team
