A Visa you fund from your own crypto keys, on Gnosis Chain, with a free-card claim that a partner contradicts
ELLIPAL Pay is a Visa payment card you spend from crypto you already hold yourself. The money does not sit with a provider: it comes out of your own self-custody wallet at the moment you pay, and settlement happens over the Gnosis Chain network through the smart contracts of Gnosis Pay, the partner that runs the card programme. In practice it behaves like a prepaid card whose balance happens to be stablecoins in your own wallet. I scored it 5.8 out of 10 overall. That is a middle-of-the-road mark, and it comes from genuinely good pieces — no transaction fees, no ELLIPAL conversion markup, a decent country list — weighed against real gaps: a virtual card only, no stated cash-out terms, no stated Apple Pay or Google Pay, a product page still saying “coming soon”, and a fee claim the partner’s own guide contradicts. Here is what I checked, what I found, and who I think it is for.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: who this card is really for
My overall score is 5.8 / 10. It is not a bad card; it is an unfinished one with a promising shape. If you already keep stablecoins in an ELLIPAL (or any) self-custody wallet and you want a plain Visa to spend them without moving funds to an exchange first, this is a real option and the mechanics are sound. If you need a physical card in the post, a card that taps a phone, cash withdrawals, or a card you can be sure is fully live today, it is not the right fit yet — the product is still rolling out and several of the details people care about are simply not stated on the pages I could read.
The score breaks down as follows.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 6 / 10 | Legal residents of a decent list of European and Latin American countries; a waitlist elsewhere |
| Cost | 7 / 10 | No transaction fees and no ELLIPAL conversion markup on paper, card called free; but the partner’s own guide prices it and charges for cash-out |
| Top-up options | 5 / 10 | Funds come from your self-custody wallet and settle on Gnosis Chain; balances in EURe, GBPe, USDCe |
| Reliability and complaints | 6 / 10 | Established partner (Gnosis Pay, KYC via SumSub) but the issuer is not named and the product page still reads “coming soon” |
| Everyday use | 4 / 10 | Virtual card at activation; no physical card, Apple Pay or Google Pay stated; cash-out terms unclear |
| Total | 5.8 / 10 | Good bones, unfinished product, thin day-to-day detail |
A word on the audience this really serves. The strongest case for ELLIPAL Pay is someone who already owns an ELLIPAL hardware wallet and holds stablecoins in self-custody, and who wants to turn those stablecoins into everyday spending without trusting a custodian or an exchange. That is a real job, and this card does it. The cost score of 7 is high partly because of who it’s aimed at: no conversion markup and no gas on ordinary purchases matter a lot when the whole point is to spend stablecoins cheaply. But if you are not already holding crypto that way, you are choosing a still-in-progress product over more finished alternatives, and that is a trade you have to make knowingly.
Here is the short version of who it suits and who it does not.
Suits:
- You hold stablecoins in a self-custody wallet and want to spend them on a normal Visa.
- You are a legal resident of a supported European or Latin American country.
- You value keeping control of your keys over having a polished physical card today.
Does not suit:
- You need a physical card, Apple Pay or Google Pay right now.
- You rely on cash withdrawals and want clear, official cash-out terms.
- You want a product that is unambiguously finished and fully rolled out — this one is not there yet.
Will they give you the card?
Availability is by legal residence, and it is a decent list, but not global. ELLIPAL’s own starting list names legal residents of these European countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein and Luxembourg; and these Latin American countries: Argentina, Brazil and Colombia. Outside those and any other country on the wider list, the card states there is a waitlist. So the honest answer to “is it available in my country” is: check the list, and if you are not on it, expect to wait rather than expect a refusal. I would not read the waitlist as a green light — it means you have to apply and wait.
One practical note on where I found this. When the product page was fetched it redirected to the help-centre landing page rather than a dedicated availability list, so the country information comes from the page’s starting data and may lag behind a live list. That is a small detail, but it is the kind of thing that makes me cautious, not confident, about the edges of the list.
Age is not stated. Prepaid and debit cards in this category are generally for adults, 18 and over, so assume you need to be an adult, but the card’s own pages do not spell out a minimum.
How to get it
Getting the card means going through standard know-your-customer checks, which is normal and expected. The published steps run through the ELLIPAL app: Assets, then Pay, then ELLIPAL Pay, then Apply. You complete identity verification, supplying an email, a government ID, and a utility bill from the last three months as proof of address. Then you wait for Gnosis Pay, the partner that runs verification, to approve you. Once approved you activate a virtual card, providing a phone number and confirming where your funds come from.
So the documents to have ready are simple: a government ID, a recent utility bill, an email, a phone number, and a clear answer on your source of funds. The verification itself is run by Gnosis Pay using SumSub, a standard identity-checking provider.
Two things people often ask about this stage that the card’s pages do not state clearly. First, how long verification takes — no duration is given, so treat it as unknown. Second, whether the physical card ever arrives: the card is a Visa usable wherever Visa is accepted, but only a virtual card is described at activation, and physical or metal card availability is not stated. If a plastic card is the reason you want this, do not assume it is coming.
Fees: what a payment really costs
On paper, the fees are the best part of this card. ELLIPAL’s own order guide calls the card free. There are no transaction fees, no added fee from ELLIPAL Pay for currency conversion, and no gas fees on card transactions. Balances are held in EURe, GBPe and USDCe, and there is no ELLIPAL markup on conversion for purchases in a non-local currency. That is genuinely more than most cards in this category promise.

But there is a real contradiction you need to know about, and I would rather you hear it from me than discover it at checkout. ELLIPAL’s guide says the card is free. But Gnosis Pay’s own ordering guide, for its partner programme, says the card costs 30.23 EURe paid from a Gnosis Chain wallet, plus a small amount of xDai for gas (per help.gnosispay.com, October 2026). One of those two is wrong, or the free claim applies only to certain circumstances. I could not resolve it from the pages available. Treat “free” as the headline and 30.23 EURe as the amount to actually have available.
The table below collects the fees and limits as I found them, marking which come from ELLIPAL’s own pages and which come from the unofficial partner material. Values are as stated; I have not adjusted them.
| Fee or limit | Value | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Card issuance | Called free by ELLIPAL’s order guide | Official |
| Card issuance | 30.23 EURe plus a little xDai for gas, per Gnosis Pay partner guide | Unofficial (partner) |
| Transaction fee | None | Official |
| ELLIPAL conversion markup | None | Official |
| Gas on card transactions | None | Official |
| ATM withdrawal | Not stated on the ELLIPAL pages I read | Not stated |
| ATM withdrawal | 250 per withdrawal, 500 per day; fair use of 5 free withdrawals or 200 per month, then a 2% fee | Unofficial (partner) |
| Daily limit | 8,000 rolling over 24 hours (EURe / GBPe / USDCe) | Official |
| Per-transaction limit | 5,000 (EURe / GBPe / USDCe) | Official |
| Tiered pricing | Not stated | Not stated |
Now let me walk through a few ordinary payments, because the headline “no fees” needs a translation into what actually happens.
Paying 30 for lunch in a euro shop. If your balance is EURe and the shop is in the euro area, there is no transaction fee and no conversion markup, and no gas, because you are not moving anything on-chain to make a card payment. This is the clean case, and it is the case the card is built for.
Paying 30 for a subscription billed in dollars. The card converts at the network rate with no ELLIPAL markup. But the underlying currency is your stablecoin balance, so which balance is drawn matters — the card holds EURe, GBPe and USDCe. A USDC-denominated balance is not the same as a USDC converted to a local balance, and the pages do not spell out the conversion path in detail. If you spend heavily outside your balance’s currency, read the currency section on the card’s site before you commit.
Taking money out at an ATM. This is the weakest part of the picture. ELLIPAL’s own pages do not state ATM terms at all. The Gnosis Pay partner guide gives 250 per withdrawal, 500 per day, with a fair-use allowance of 5 free withdrawals or 200 per month and then a 2% fee. I am showing you that because it is the best information available, not because the card has confirmed it. If cash access matters to you, treat this as unconfirmed and ask support.
The pattern across all of these: spending is cheap and clean, cash-out is unclear and possibly not free. Decide based on whether you actually need cash.
Top up: how the money gets onto the card
There is no top-up in the usual sense, and that is the point. You do not deposit funds onto the card. Spending draws directly on stablecoins sitting in your own self-custody wallet, and the funds stay there. The settlement happens over the Gnosis Chain network through the Gnosis Pay smart contract at the moment of payment.

Practically, that means two things. First, there is no separate deposit step, so there is no moment where your balance sits with a provider waiting to be loaded. Second, where an on-chain movement is part of the flow, normal blockchain fees apply — that is the generic ELLIPAL FAQ position, and it is the honest one.
The balances are in EURe, GBPe and USDCe, so this is not a Bitcoin card or an all-coin card; it is a stablecoin card. If you are holding those stablecoins in your own wallet, you already have your top-up. If you are not, you would first need to acquire them and hold them yourself, which is a separate decision with its own risks.
One thing to keep front of mind here, because it is the sharpest edge of the whole product. A transfer to the wrong network, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost. Blockchain transfers are generally irreversible. This card settles on Gnosis Chain, so the network matters. I am not going to walk you through how to handle this beyond saying it is where people lose money, and the card’s own pages do not spell out a recovery guarantee.
Paying with it every day
Day-to-day is where this card is thinnest, and it is the main reason the Everyday use score is a 4.
What you get is a virtual Visa, available at activation, usable wherever Visa is accepted. That covers online payments well: subscriptions, software, travel booking, anything card-like. What I could not find stated is a physical or metal card, or Apple Pay and Google Pay support. Both are simply not stated on the pages I read, so I will not promise them and I will not rule them out either. But if your day-to-day life runs on tapping a phone or on a physical card in your wallet, this card as described does not yet cover you.
Other everyday details are unstated as well. Whether you can link the card to mobile wallets is not stated. Which merchant categories are blocked — gambling is the one people ask about — is not stated. Whether there is any rewards or cashback on ELLIPAL Pay itself is not stated. There is unofficial mention of Gnosis Pay paying 1% to 5% cashback in GNO depending on GNO staked (per a Bleap review of Gnosis Pay, 2026), but that is not confirmed for ELLIPAL Pay, so I would not plan a budget around it.
Two more everyday realities. If a merchant looks at your card and sees a prepaid or foreign-issued BIN, some shops decline it — this is a general property of crypto and foreign cards, not an ELLIPAL fault, but it can happen. And if a payment is declined, the authorisation can leave a hold on your funds for several days. These are the kinds of small frictionless-ness that separate “works for a demo” from “works for daily life,” and at 5.8 I have to count them.
The daily limit of 8,000 rolling over 24 hours, and 5,000 per transaction, are generous enough for normal spending. If you are spending well above that, this is not the card.
What can go wrong
Let me separate what I verified from what I am inferring, because this is where a review earns its keep.
The product is not finished. The product page still reads “coming soon” and describes a gradual rollout. I found no dated news about the Pay card. That is the single most important risk: you may apply and then wait, or get a partially rolled-out experience.
The issuer is not named. ELLIPAL’s pages do not state the issuing institution, its country, or its licences. The card partner is Gnosis Pay, which runs KYC through SumSub. Unofficial, DeFiLlama lists the Gnosis Pay card issuer as Monavate (per DeFiLlama, October 2026). Why this matters: when something goes wrong — a frozen balance, a dispute, a compliance hold — you need to know which regulated institution is actually behind the card. The card’s pages do not tell you, and that is a gap, not a detail. Ask support before you load anything meaningful.
Complaints exist for the company, not for this card. On Trustpilot, ELLIPAL (ellipal.com) sits at 4.1 out of 5 from 303 reviews, read on 21 October 2026. But those are reviews of the whole company — mostly their hardware wallets — not the Pay card, and there is no mention of the Pay card among them. The recurring themes there are delivery delays, device battery and defect problems, and wallet and app issues (user reports, August to October 2026). So this tells you about ELLIPAL’s fulfilment and support reliability in general; it does not tell you the card is bad. I found no official incidents involving the card itself.
Support is not by phone. Help is via a help centre at support.ellipal.com. ELLIPAL says it does not offer phone support (company reply on Trustpilot, 25 August 2026). For a card, disputes and blocked transactions are the moments you most want a human on the line, so plan around email.
Self-custody cuts both ways. The upside is the strongest part of the design: no bank or third party holds, freezes or manages your funds. The downside is that responsibility for key loss, phishing, and malware that swaps a copied address sits entirely with you. Two-factor authentication, a freeze button, and spending controls are not stated. And blockchain transfers are irreversible — a transfer to an unsupported network or a wrong address can be gone.
Regulatory and depeg backdrop. Stablecoins are stable by intention, not by guarantee — USDC has temporarily lost its peg before. Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, so stablecoins are not censorship-proof. And the crypto side of such a product is regulated under rules like the EU’s MiCA (in force since June 2023, with stablecoin rules applying from 30 June 2024 and CASP rules from 30 December 2024), while the card itself is regulated separately as a payment service. A crypto card often rests on two licences, and you are told the card side here least clearly.
A dispute or freeze may be harder than you expect. How disputes work is not stated on the pages I read. Chargebacks and reversal rights vary by product and jurisdiction, and I would not assume the same protection you get from an ordinary bank debit card.
Programme risk is real for the category. Visa and Mastercard do not issue crypto cards themselves; they license issuers and can suspend a programme. FTX’s Visa agreement was terminated in November 2022 and the card wound down. WaveCrest, a card issuer supplying crypto brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all its Visa programmes. Closures typically mean a notice period, then spending stops, then you are asked to withdraw balances. Not a prediction for ELLIPAL Pay — just the honest background rate for this kind of product.
Scores at a glance, then what to take instead
Before the alternatives, the pattern in the marks: cost and everyday use are the story. A 7 on cost says the economics are attractive; a 4 on everyday use says the experience is not finished. If you are choosing on price and mechanics, this card scores well. If you are choosing on “will this work every day without friction,” it scores poorly, and that is the tension.
Let me compare against three alternatives from the same category, so you can see the trade rather than take my word.
MetaMask Card — 7.1 / 10. Open in 45 listed countries (Andorra, Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Mexico, Germany, France, Spain, Uruguay and others; other regions waitlist; US/UK sign-ups temporarily closed). Mastercard, virtual card instantly, metal pre-orderable in app. Issuer Monovate, card provider Crypto Life. Virtual free; metal $199/year. “Minimal fee per transaction,” no MetaMask fees, no foreign transaction fee. Spends from your connected wallet across Linea, Base, Monad, Solana in mUSD, wETH, EURe, GBPe, USDC, USDT. Cashback 1% (Virtual) / 3% then 1% (Metal) in mUSD. The highest score here, with a stated issuer, stated cashback and stated mobile support — at the cost of a real fee line and a higher metal price.
KAST — 6.1 / 10. Residence-based eligibility with a strict citizenship/ID rule (living in a supported country with only a restricted-region ID can still fail KYC). Virtual and physical, up to 10 cards, Visa Platinum / Infinite metal / Infinite gold. Free Standard; Premium $1,000/year; Private $10,000/year. Stablecoin top-up 0%, USD spend 0%, FX 0.5%–1.75% depending on country, declines $0.50. USDT, USDC, PYUSD, RLUSD accepted. Cashback 1.5% / 2% / 3% by tier. Richest feature set and a physical card, but the membership tiers are expensive and the citizenship rule is a real gate.
TokenPocket — 5.8 / 10. Visa debit across Europe (Germany, France, Spain, Switzerland and others), Mastercard for Asia-Pacific (Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan, Taiwan, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea, UK). Runs on Arbitrum, balances in EUR24 and USD24, cards virtual. Small NFT creation fee partly covered; a 1% fee on depositing cryptocurrency, said to be refunded later via rewards. Same overall score as ELLIPAL Pay, different trade: a stated 1% deposit fee in exchange for a broader card network footprint.
Put them side by side and the choice sharpens:
| ELLIPAL Pay | MetaMask Card | KAST | TokenPocket | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Score | 5.8 | 7.1 | 6.1 | 5.8 |
| Network | Visa | Mastercard | Visa | Visa / Mastercard by region |
| Physical card | Not stated | Metal, $199/yr | Yes (delivery $40 Standard) | Not stated |
| Issuer named | Not stated | Monovate | Yes | Not stated |
| Key fees | None on spend; issuance cost disputed | Minimal per txn | FX 0.5%–1.75%; tier membership | 1% on crypto deposit |
| Cashback | Not stated for this card | 1% / 3% in mUSD | 1.5% / 2% / 3% USD | Deposit fee refunded via rewards |
| Self-custody | Yes | Yes | Own balance | Wallet deposit |
The honest summary: if your priority is “already hold stablecoins in self-custody, spend them with zero fees and no custody,” ELLIPAL Pay matches that best on paper and finishes worst in practice. If you want the most complete product today, MetaMask Card leads. If you want a physical card and rich rewards and will pay for a tier, KAST. If you want the widest geographic card acceptance, TokenPocket.
Who I would recommend it to
I would recommend ELLIPAL Pay to a specific person, and tell the rest to wait.
I would recommend it to you if all three are true: you already hold stablecoins in a self-custody wallet you control, you are a legal resident of a country on the supported list, and you are comfortable being an early adopter of a product that is still rolling out. In that case the appeal is clear and hard to get elsewhere: you spend directly from your own keys, at no transaction fee, with no conversion markup and no gas on the purchase, and no custodian ever holds your balance. For someone whose whole point is self-sovereignty, that is a legitimate and attractive card.
I would tell you to wait, or to look at MetaMask Card or KAST, if you need any of the following today: a physical card, Apple Pay or Google Pay, clearly stated cash-withdrawal terms, a named issuing institution you can point to, or a card you are certain has finished rolling out. This product has not confirmed those things, and its product page still says “coming soon.” Buying into that uncertainty for a few basis points of fee saving is not obviously a good trade.
My honest overall position, at 5.8 / 10: the bones are good, the paperwork is thin, and the product is unfinished. Watch it. The moment the issuer is named, the physical card and mobile wallets are confirmed, and the ATM terms are stated, I would look again — the fee structure suggests it could climb well past a 6.
Frequently asked questions
What is the ELLIPAL Pay card?
ELLIPAL Pay is a Visa payment card that spends stablecoins you hold in your own self-custody wallet. When you pay, the funds are drawn from your wallet and settle on the Gnosis Chain network through Gnosis Pay’s smart contracts at the moment of payment. It is essentially a prepaid card whose balance happens to live in your own wallet rather than with a provider. Balances are in EURe, GBPe and USDCe.
How does the ELLIPAL Pay card work?
You apply in the ELLIPAL app, pass identity verification, and receive a virtual Visa at activation. From then on, spending draws directly on stablecoins in your self-custody wallet, settling on Gnosis Chain through Gnosis Pay’s smart contract. There is no separate top-up or deposit step; funds stay in your wallet until you pay, and network fees apply only where an on-chain movement is part of that flow.
Is ELLIPAL Pay a bank?
No. ELLIPAL is a crypto hardware-wallet company (ELLIPAL Limited) and the card runs as a programme with partner Gnosis Pay, which handles KYC through SumSub. The issuing institution, its country and its licences are not stated on the ELLIPAL pages I read; unofficial listings name Monavate as the Gnosis Pay card issuer. It is a payment card product, not a bank account, and the card side is regulated separately from the crypto side.
Is the ELLIPAL Pay card free?
ELLIPAL’s order guide calls the card free, and there are no transaction fees or conversion markup. But Gnosis Pay’s own partner guide says the card costs 30.23 EURe plus a little xDai for gas. These two statements conflict and I could not resolve them, so have the 30.23 EURe available. Cash withdrawals may also carry fees under the partner’s fair-use terms.
Who is eligible for the ELLIPAL Pay card?
Legal residents of a list of European and Latin American countries, including Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Argentina, Brazil and Colombia. In other countries there is a waitlist. Age is not stated, but such cards are generally for adults.
Does the ELLIPAL Pay card require KYC?
Yes. You supply an email, a government ID and a utility bill from the last three months as proof of address, and confirm your source of funds. Verification is run by Gnosis Pay using SumSub. How long it takes is not stated. If you are in the EU, this identity check is part of standard anti-money-laundering obligations that regulated businesses must complete before opening a relationship.
Can I use the ELLIPAL Pay card in my country?
Use it wherever Visa is accepted, subject to the daily cap of 8,000 (rolling 24 hours) and 5,000 per transaction. Two practical cautions: shops can decline prepaid or foreign-issued cards, and because blockchain transfers are irreversible, a transfer on the wrong network or to a wrong address can be lost with no guaranteed recovery. Cash withdrawals at ATMs are not covered by the ELLIPAL pages I read.
How do I top up the ELLIPAL Pay card?
You do not top it up in the usual sense. There is no deposit step and no separate balance to load; spending draws directly on stablecoins in your self-custody wallet, and the funds never leave it. You acquire stablecoins and hold them yourself; the balances supported are EURe, GBPe and USDCe. If you are not already holding them that way, that is a separate step with its own risks.
Is the ELLIPAL Pay card safe, and can I use it with Apple Pay?
The self-custody design is the strong point: no bank or third party holds, freezes or manages your funds, so you bear the risk of key loss and phishing but also keep control. Apple Pay and Google Pay support is not stated on the pages I read, and neither is a physical card, two-factor authentication, a freeze button or spending controls. So treat mobile wallets as unconfirmed rather than unavailable. Note also that disputes are not described, and protections differ from an ordinary bank card.
Is the ELLIPAL Pay card worth it?
For someone already holding stablecoins in self-custody, the economics are attractive: no transaction fees, no conversion markup, no gas on purchases, and no custodian. For everyone else, the product is not finished — the page still says “coming soon,” the issuer is not named, cash-out terms are unconfirmed, and mobile wallets are unstated. If you want a finished card today, MetaMask Card or KAST offer more; if you want this, be comfortable being an early adopter.
Wallet cards put to the test – cryptocardtested
Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team
