A USDT prepaid card with no monthly fee and no published legal entity

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

ExCards is a prepaid card you load with USDT and spend like an ordinary payment card, with Apple Pay and Google Pay on all three products and no monthly fee. The catch is not in the pricing but in the paperwork: no legal entity, registration country, issuer name or licence is published, the Terms of Service are marked as a placeholder, and no independent reviews exist anywhere. That combination — good mechanics, no published accountability — is what drives the score below, and it is why I would only put a small, expendable balance on it rather than treat it as your everyday card.

ExCards works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 5.9 out of 10

The score is 5.9 / 10. It is not a bad product; it is a product whose risks you cannot read about. The card does the basic things well — a USDT balance, seven named networks, three virtual cards within 10 minutes, mobile wallets everywhere, no monthly fee, and limits high enough that nobody will hit them by accident. What it does not do is tell you who is liable for your money.

Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 9 / 10 Excluded places are listed; the rule is by residence, not citizenship, and the list of supported countries is not published
Cost 3 / 10 $29–$50 one-off, 2%–3.5% to top up, $0.50 authorisation on two cards, up to 2% FX markup, no monthly fee
Top-up options 9 / 10 USDT across ERC-20, TRC-20, BEP-20, Bitcoin, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism, Avalanche; BTC, ETH and SOL converted
Reliability and complaints 4 / 10 No legal entity or registration country published, issuer and licences unnamed, custodial balance, Terms marked as placeholder, no reviews found
Everyday use 5 / 10 Three virtual cards in 10 minutes, Apple Pay and Google Pay on all; no ATM, plastic Visa E-commerce only by pre-order
Total 5.9 / 10 Strong on mechanics, weak on disclosure

Who this suits: someone paying subscriptions, hosting or advertising bills online, who already holds USDT and wants to convert it into something they can hand to a merchant’s payment form without moving money through a bank. That is a genuinely underserved need and ExCards serves it directly.

Who it does not suit: anyone whose income depends on this card, anyone who needs cash, anyone in a jurisdiction where a prepaid card issued elsewhere creates a reporting question for them, and anyone who cannot stomach having a balance held by a partner they cannot name. If your fallback payment method is a second card from a bank you have used for years, this becomes a low-stakes experiment. If it *is* the fallback, it is not one yet.

Will they give you the card

The eligibility page is unusual in a way that is worth understanding before you apply, because the absence is informative. ExCards lists only excluded places, and does not publish a list of supported countries. What it does publish is the other side.

Named exclusions:

That last framing matters more than it first appears. The Russia line is not a flat refusal; it is a decision the unnamed issuer partner may take per transaction. Belarus is conditional on who you are rather than where you are. So the practical reading is: the country you live in is a live variable in the decision, and the deciding party is someone whose identity is not disclosed.

The rule is by residence, not citizenship. ExCards states you must accurately disclose your country of residence at issuance, that a change of residence must be reported within 30 days, and that a false disclosure may lead to retroactive card closure. Retroactive is the operative word — the closure can be applied after the fact, not refused at the door.

Rejection reasons the card itself lists: false or altered documents, which is a permanent block; a sanctions or PEP hit; a failed check; and cases where issuance would breach law or issuer policy. It also reserves the right to refuse without giving a reason. The absence of a published supported-country list means you cannot pre-check your own eligibility from the public pages — you find out by applying and being told no.

How to get it

The signup path is short, which is the one thing that does not need caveats.

What you need: a clear scan of the photo page of a government-issued passport. That is the whole stated requirement — no selfie, no video, no liveness check, no proof of address is mentioned. Age is “18+ in most countries”, with the legal age in your jurisdiction as the backstop.

Where: app.excards.io, or the @ex_cards_bot Telegram mini-app. There is no App Store or Google Play app stated; the service is the web dashboard and the Telegram mini-app.

What happens: you upload the passport, an issuer partner checks its authenticity and screens against sanctions and PEP lists, and the card is issued “within 10 minutes after a successful check”. There is one KYC level only — no higher tier unlocks bigger limits later.

What you get: a virtual card. Three products, all virtual:

The balance is denominated in USDT/USD, and all three cards share one wallet. A physical Visa E-commerce card exists but only by pre-order, and the card states no shipping date and no shipping cost. The pre-order still requires the mandatory first top-up of 10 USDT. If a virtual card is lost, leaked or expires, replacing it costs the card price again — 29, 35 or 50 USDT depending on which one.

Your KYC data is refreshed at card expiry, on a change of residence, on suspicious activity, or by default every 24 months. That last point means an account that sits quietly still gets re-checked.

Fees: what ExCards really costs

There is no monthly fee, and no maintenance or inactivity fee. That is the good headline. The costs sit in the one-off purchase, the top-up percentage, the per-authorisation charge and the FX markup, and they stack on small payments.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a ExCards payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Item Visa Universe Visa E-commerce Mastercard Business
Card price (one-off, USDT, non-refundable) $29 $35 $50
Mandatory first top-up 10 USDT, credited to balance 10 USDT 10 USDT
Monthly fee none none none
Top-up fee 2% 3.5% 3.5%
Authorisation fee $0.50 flat $0.10 under $1.00; free at $1.00 and above $0.50 flat
FX markup on non-USD merchants up to 2% over interbank rate up to 2% up to 2%
ATM withdrawal not available not available not available
Per-transaction limit $1,000,000 $20,000 $250,000
Per-day limit $3,000,000 none stated $500,000
Per-month limit $3,000,000 none stated $1,000,000

One row above needs unpacking: Visa E-commerce carries a $0.80 charge on top of the rest if the decline rate on your card exceeds 10% in a rolling window. That is a penalty for failing payments, and it applies to the card most likely to see declines.

Three everyday payments, so the percentages stop being abstract:

A $2.99 subscription on Visa Universe. You topped up, so 2% came off before you started — but that percentage is spread across the whole balance, not this payment. At the point of payment you pay $0.50 for the authorisation. A substantial portion of the purchase goes to fees, if you treat the top-up fee as attributable entirely to this one payment. If you pay ten $2.99 subscriptions, the $5.00 in authorisations exceeds the entire subscription spend. This is the structural point: a flat per-authorisation fee is punishing on small, frequent payments, which is exactly what subscriptions are.

A $60 subscription on Visa E-commerce. No authorisation fee at all, since $0.10 only applies under $1.00 and above that it is free. Then $0.03 per 3D Secure authentication on top. The 3.5% top-up fee is what you actually pay, spread across everything you load. Here the card behaves sensibly — this is the product shaped for the use case the card describes for itself.

A €40 purchase with Visa Universe. The issuer’s reference rate applies plus “a markup of up to 2% over the interbank rate”. Up to 2% on €40 is under a euro, but the same markup on a monthly software bill is a recurring line item you will not itemise because it is invisible at the till.

Also worth knowing: if you send anything other than USDT, it is converted to USDT “at network rate” with no fee stated, and the blockchain network fee for your deposit is paid to the network, not to ExCards. Transfers between your own cards are 0%.

The blunt summary: no monthly fee is not the same as cheap. This card is cheap if you load once and spend in large chunks, and expensive if you make many small payments on Universe or Business.

How to top up

The balance is in USDT, and the network list is the strongest part of the whole product.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up ExCards starts with a transfer to the right network

Named networks: ERC-20, TRC-20, BEP-20, Bitcoin, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism, Avalanche. The card adds that these are examples and it accepts others.

Other coins — BTC, ETH, SOL among them — are converted to USDT first, at network rate, with no fee stated. The minimum first top-up is 10 USDT. The top-up fee is 2% on Universe and 3.5% on E-commerce and Business, so a 100 USDT load on a 3.5% product credits 96.50 USDT.

Three things that catch people out here, and they are not ExCards’ fault but they will still cost you money:

Fiat top-up is not mentioned at all — so if you are paid in a bank account and want to convert wages into this card, that path is not documented. And there is no described way to withdraw the balance: no withdrawal method is stated. The only thing said about the money is that the mandatory 10 USDT stays spendable, and that prohibited use leads to card closure without refund. Treat loaded funds as spent funds, not as savings you might rotate back out.

Paying with it every day

Apple Pay and Google Pay work on all three cards. This matters more than it sounds: a virtual card number in a mobile wallet is far more useful than a card number in a text file, because the token lives in the phone’s Secure Element and each payment uses a one-time code rather than a static number. If you are adding it to Apple Wallet, that is the route most people will actually use.

Everyday use elsewhere is thinner. No ATM, at all — the card says all cards are virtual and ATM cash withdrawal is not available. That is a hard line, not a phased rollout. If a large part of your spending is cash, this card is not a candidate.

Physical plastic is only the Visa E-commerce card, and only by pre-order with no stated delivery date. So “having a card in my wallet” here realistically means a virtual card in Apple Pay or Google Pay.

Blocked categories are described in general terms — the terms bar use for illegal goods or services, terrorism financing, money laundering, and sanctioned-country transactions — but no merchant-category list is published. In practice that means you cannot pre-check whether a specific merchant type is blocked; gambling is the classic category that issuers block by policy rather than by law, and without a published list you only learn by trying.

Two operational details you will feel. Declined transactions return funds to the card balance automatically, which is at least unambiguous. But no dispute or chargeback process is published, and the card states it is “not liable for declined transactions, FX losses, network downtime, or merchant rejections”. There is no chargeback route described. If a merchant takes the money and delivers nothing, the description of this card gives you no mechanism to recover it.

On the plus side, there is no cashback or rewards scheme stated. The only incentive is a referral programme: 20% of each card issued at Bronze rising to 40% at Platinum, plus a share of top-ups from 0.05% to 0.20%, and 10% off the first card with a code. Worth noting the shape of it — the referral reward is the clearest signal of how this business expects to grow.

What can go wrong

This is the section that cost the card four points, and it is the one to read before loading money.

Nobody is named. The brand is ExCards, © 2026. There is no published legal entity and no registration country. The cards are “issued by a third-party card issuer partner” and supported by “licensed BIN sponsors” — but the issuer is not named and no licences are named. Your balance is “custodial — held with our card issuer partner”. So the party holding your money is a company you cannot identify from any public page ExCards publishes.

The Terms of Service are a placeholder. They are marked “last updated 17 May 2026” but self-describe as a placeholder, with the final version due in May–June 2026. Fee changes are announced in-app at least 30 days ahead, which is at least a real commitment — but the operative document describing your rights is unfinished.

No safeguarding statement. Custodial balance, TLS 1.3, 3-D Secure 2.0 on all authorisations, and suspicious activity is auto-declined. What is not described: no freeze feature, and no statement about how customer funds are protected. This matters because, in the EU at least, an electronic money institution must safeguard customer funds by segregating them or insuring them — and those funds are not bank deposits. Whether that protection reaches your balance depends entirely on who the unnamed partner is and what they are licensed to do.

No reviews, in either direction. A search across review sites returned nothing about excards.io, and there is no Trustpilot page. No official incident has been published either. The honest reading is that the service is too new or too small to have a public footprint — not that it is clean. A card with no complaints because nobody has written any is not the same as a card with a good track record.

History, for calibration. Custodial platforms have failed before: Mt. Gox (about US$350 million reported stolen, 2011–2014), Coincheck (about US$400 million, 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million, 2022). In the card-issuer world, Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022 and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer; WaveCrest was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, closing all WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes. Closures typically mean a notice period, then loading stops, then spending stops, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances. If you cannot withdraw from this card, that last step is the one that would hurt.

Support exists. 24/7, via in-app chat at app.excards.io with answers “within minutes”, and a Telegram bot at t.me/excards_bot. Interface languages are English, Russian, Spanish, Ukrainian. Genuinely, that is better than most services in this category.

Currency and tax exposure. The balance is USDT/USD. Non-USD merchant currencies convert at the issuer rate plus up to 2%. Stablecoins can depeg — TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022, and USDC briefly lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis — so the “stable” in stablecoin is a description of intent, not a guarantee. And each card payment funded from crypto is generally a taxable disposal in the US, measured at fair market value on the date of the transaction. I am not telling you what you owe; I am telling you that the payment is not tax-neutral and you should check your own position.

What to take instead

None of these is a strong endorsement — they are the other options I found, scored on the same basis. Cardex 5.6/10, CardFlow 4.9/10, HyperCard 4.7/10.

ExCards Cardex CardFlow HyperCard
Score 5.9 5.6 4.9 4.7
Country approach exclusions listed, no supported list “200+ countries”, no list Nigeria-focused “176 countries” (acceptance, not eligibility)
Card virtual Visa Universe / E-commerce, Mastercard Business virtual and physical, VERSE / Visa / Mastercard / UnionPay virtual USD Mastercard prepaid, network not stated
Cost $29–$50 one-off not stated virtual card free not stated
Fees 2%–3.5% top-up, $0.50 auth, up to 2% FX conversion fee % not stated not stated not stated
Top-up USDT, 8 networks, BTC/ETH/SOL converted USDT, USDC, BTC; networks not stated BTC, USDT, ETH or Naira transfer USDT, BTC, ETH; networks not stated
Rewards referral only not stated not stated not stated

Two honest observations from filling that table in.

First, the pattern repeats: Cardex, CardFlow and HyperCard all decline to publish fees. ExCards publishes more pricing than any of them, which is genuinely to its credit and is part of why it scores highest despite the disclosure problems. When the information is missing everywhere, the readable one looks better than it is.

Second, the alternatives are not obviously safer. None of them names an issuer either, none publishes an exclusion list in the way ExCards does, and Cardex’s card currency being Naira per its app listing is a different kind of constraint rather than a solution. CardFlow and HyperCard sit lower still because less is stated about them, not because something bad is known.

The comparison that actually matters is not between these four. It is between any of them and the option the reader may already have: a mainstream bank’s virtual card that draws on an account you hold, with a deposit guarantee scheme behind it. If that exists for you, it is the correct comparison, and it wins on everything except the USDT-native part.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend ExCards to someone who already holds USDT, spends most of their money on subscriptions, hosting or ads, has no reliable bank card, and can afford to treat the loaded balance as disposable. Under those conditions it is a good tool: no monthly fee, high limits, mobile wallets everywhere, several networks to choose from, and pricing published in enough detail to plan around.

I would not recommend it as a primary card, because a card you cannot overdraw is also a card that takes ten minutes to arrive and cannot reach an ATM, and because the counterparty holding your balance is not identified anywhere on the public pages.

The version of this I would actually sign off on, if the details were filled in, is unremarkable: an issuer named, a licence number shown, a published safeguarding statement, a withdrawal route, and real Terms. Any one of those missing would give me pause; all five missing is what puts it at 5.9 rather than 7.

Before you load anything, check three things yourself. Whether a withdrawal route exists by the time you need one. Whether the final Terms have replaced the placeholder. And whether your own country’s rules make holding a foreign prepaid balance a question you would rather answer before funding it than after. None of that is about getting around anything — it is about knowing whose promise your money is holding.

Frequently asked questions

What is ExCards card?

A prepaid payment card you load with USDT and spend like an ordinary card. You get one of three virtual products — Visa Universe, Visa E-commerce or Mastercard Business — sharing a single wallet denominated in USDT/USD. Apple Pay and Google Pay work on all three. There is no monthly fee, no ATM access, and physical plastic only by pre-order for Visa E-commerce. The balance is custodial, held with an unnamed issuer partner.

Is ExCards a bank?

No — and this is the most important thing on the page. No legal entity, registration country, issuer name or licence is published anywhere on the card’s public pages. The cards are described as issued by a third-party card issuer partner and supported by licensed BIN sponsors, without naming either. ExCards is a brand and interface, not a regulated bank in any jurisdiction that it has disclosed.

Who owns ExCards?

Nobody is disclosed, and the brand page only carries a © 2026 notice. That is the honest answer. Visa and Mastercard do not issue consumer crypto cards themselves — they license issuers and can suspend programmes — so the ownership chain runs through an unnamed licensed institution. The Terms of Service are dated 17 May 2026 but self-described as a placeholder pending a final version.

Does ExCards require KYC?

Yes, and it is light. A clear scan of the photo page of a government-issued passport is the stated requirement. No selfie, no video or liveness check, and no proof of address is mentioned. The issuer partner screens against sanctions and PEP lists. Age is “18+ in most countries”. Data is refreshed at expiry, on a residence change, on suspicious activity, or every 24 months by default.

Is ExCards available in my country?

The card publishes only exclusions, not a supported-country list, so you cannot pre-check eligibility. Excluded: North Korea, Iran, Syria, Cuba, Myanmar, Sudan, plus Crimea, Donetsk, Luhansk, Zaporizhzhia and Kherson where applicable. Russia is listed as depending on transaction context and issuer policy, and Belarus for sanctioned persons. The rule is residence, not citizenship.

How much does ExCards cost?

$29 for Visa Universe, $35 for Visa E-commerce, $50 for Mastercard Business, paid in USDT and non-refundable, plus a mandatory first top-up of 10 USDT. Top-up is 2% on Universe and 3.5% on the other two. Authorisation is $0.50 flat on Universe and Business; on E-commerce it is $0.10 under $1.00 and free above, plus $0.03 per 3D Secure check. Non-USD merchants add up to 2%. No monthly fee.

How do I top up an ExCards card?

Send USDT over ERC-20, TRC-20, BEP-20, Bitcoin, Polygon, Arbitrum, Optimism or Avalanche — the card says these are examples and others are accepted. BTC, ETH and SOL are converted to USDT at network rate first. Minimum first top-up is 10 USDT; fees are 2% or 3.5%. The network fee goes to the blockchain, not ExCards. Sending on the wrong network is irreversible.

Is ExCards card safe?

Safe in its mechanics, unverifiable in its substance. It runs TLS 1.3 and 3-D Secure 2.0 on all authorisations and auto-declines suspicious activity. But the balance is custodial with an unnamed partner, there is no safeguarding statement, no freeze feature described, no dispute or chargeback process published, and no reviews anywhere — positive or negative. It also states it is not liable for declined transactions or FX losses.

Can I use ExCards at an ATM or pay with my phone?

Phone yes, ATM no. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported on all three cards, which is how most people would realistically use this — the card number is tokenised in the phone and each payment uses a one-time code. Cash withdrawal is not available at all, because the card states all cards are virtual. If cash is a meaningful part of your spending, this rules the card out.

Can I withdraw money from ExCards?

No method is described, and that absence is the reason to think twice before loading. The card states only that the mandatory 10 USDT remains spendable, and that prohibited use leads to card closure without refund. Programs like this have ended before, with a notice period, then loading stops, then spending stops, then users are asked to withdraw remaining balances — and you cannot withdraw here.

Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team