Slash card review: a USDC Visa you can only get in Japan

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

Slash is a Visa payment card that draws on a USDC stablecoin balance, presented in Japan as the country’s first credit card usable with stablecoins. The headline is appealing for anyone who wants to spend stablecoins at the till, but the reality is narrower than the marketing suggests: the card is available only to residents of Japan aged 18 or above, the conversion fee and foreign-spend fee are not published anywhere I could find, and the product is still in the early days of its public rollout. I went through the official pages, the app store descriptions, the help centre, and the press coverage, and this is what I found.

Slash works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026. Slash’s public material is mostly in Japanese; where the official page is silent, I have said so plainly rather than guess.

Verdict

Slash earns 4.6 / 10 in my scoring, and that number has to be read alongside the very specific audience the card fits. The product is well designed for a narrow slice of users: Japanese residents who already hold USDC and want to spend it at a contactless terminal without first converting it to yen. For anyone outside that audience, most of the card’s headline features turn into drawbacks.

Criterion Mark Why it scored this way
Who can get it 2 / 10 Residents of Japan aged 18+ only; physical cards ship inside Japan
Cost 3 / 10 Account opening free; physical card 70 USDC (35 USDC launch deal), virtual 20 USDC; year one free, 20 USDC from year two; conversion fee not published
Top-up options 6 / 10 USDC in the app on Solana and Ethereum; Base, Arbitrum and HyperEVM marked “coming soon”
Reliability and complaints 7 / 10 Issuer Iquitous, programme run by Slash Vision Pte. Ltd. (Singapore), Orico as BIN sponsor; no independent complaints found, but launch slipped from 2025 to 20 April 2026
Everyday use 7 / 10 Virtual card issued instantly, physical card available, contactless at the till; Apple Pay, Google Pay and ATM use not confirmed
Total 4.6 / 10

The big reason the overall score sits at 4.6 despite two 7s is that eligibility drags everything down. A card you cannot apply for is not a card, and Slash is unavailable to anyone who does not live in Japan. The cost score is also held back because the most important figure for a stablecoin card, the conversion or FX fee, is simply not on the site. Until that is published, you cannot tell what a coffee costs you in USDC.

If you are a Japan resident spending USDC in yen, Slash does the thing it claims to do. If you are not in that box, read on before you set your hopes on the launch headlines.

Who will they give you the card

Slash is residence-based, and the rule is short: residents of Japan aged 18 or older, with physical cards delivered inside Japan. There is no stated route for non-residents, and the card is not positioned as an international product. The company behind the programme, Slash Vision Pte. Ltd., is based in Singapore, and the card issuer is Iquitous (iKitas) Inc., with Orico providing the BIN sponsor and international brand support, but none of that changes who can apply.

This is a Visa, and Slash positions it as Japan’s first credit card usable with stablecoins. A line that the cardholder spends from a USDC balance and the merchant receives in yen comes through in the press coverage, although the exact merchant currency and card currency are not stated on the official site. Multiple virtual cards are allowed, and you can also order a physical card. The product page makes clear that what the cardholder holds is a USDC balance inside the app rather than a yen account, and that the conversion happens at the moment of payment.

Because the card is only sold to people who already live in Japan, anyone reading this from outside the country is effectively looking at a different product. I have kept the rest of the review honest about that: the user experience in Japan may be good, but the card is not a global tool.

How to get it

The flow is in-app and is described in three steps: download the Slash App, complete identity verification, then issue a virtual or physical card. Identity verification is the Japanese honnin kakunin process; press coverage mentions a driver’s licence and biometric authentication as accepted methods, and a CoinPost report from October 2026 says the driver’s licence route is now open to the general public. The site does not publish a proof-of-address requirement or a list of accepted identity documents, so it is worth having both a Japanese ID and a way to confirm your address to hand before you start.

Virtual cards are issued instantly, so the gap between finishing KYC and having a card number is short. Physical cards are delivered nationwide within Japan; the delivery time and shipping cost are not stated, and the replacement cost for a lost or stolen physical card is not stated either. There is no mention of identity-verification tiers: the site describes a single verification step rather than a “starter / full” structure, so the limits and product features are the same for everyone.

The general public opening is reported by CoinPost as 15 October 2026; a press release puts a wider rollout at about August 2026. If you are reading this later, the important point is that opening hours and the exact document list can change without warning, so check the app for the current state before you start.

What it really costs: Fees

The costs side of Slash is half clear and half hidden. The headline numbers for the card itself are easy to find, but the per-transaction fees, which are what actually decide whether a card is cheap or expensive, are not.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Slash payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Amount
Account opening Free
Virtual card 20 USDC
Physical card 70 USDC (35 USDC on the launch campaign)
Annual fee, year 1 Free
Annual fee, year 2 onwards 20 USDC
Conversion / FX fee Not stated
ATM withdrawal Not stated
Daily and monthly limits Not stated

The card you actually carry is funded by USDC, and merchants are paid in yen (or in another fiat at the till). That means there is a conversion happening at the moment of payment, but the rate and the fee on top of it are not published. I have read the official pricing pages, the help centre, and the press releases, and Slash does not say what that conversion costs you. Until that is published, the only honest way to size the card is to assume a fee you cannot see, and that is a problem for any stablecoin card, where the whole point is to know what a coffee costs you in dollars.

There is also no stated cashback. Slash does run a referral programme: a referred friend who issues a card and makes a first payment generates a reward, which unofficial coverage puts at around USD 10 equivalent per friend. Press mentions planned member tiers (Virtual, Normal, Premium) with rewards of up to 1.5% on Premium, but the official site marks tiers as “coming soon” and does not confirm the percentages, so treat those numbers as unofficial.

Three everyday payments

To make the costs feel real, here are three purchases I have costed out using only what Slash has published. The unknown is the conversion / FX fee, so I have left that in as a separate line.

The pattern across all three is the same: the card’s fixed costs are reasonable, and the variable costs are not visible. If you spend USDC only inside Japan and you mostly pay small amounts at the till, the unknown fee may not hurt much. If you travel, subscribe to international services, or rely on the card for any cash access, the absence of published numbers is a real cost in itself.

How to top it up: Top up

Slash is funded in USDC, and top-up happens in the app. Today you can send USDC on Solana or on Ethereum. Base, Arbitrum and HyperEVM are listed as “coming soon”, which means the cheaper Layer-2 routes are not yet available. There is no fiat top-up mentioned, no minimum top-up figure, and no published top-up fee, so the only fee in the deposit is the network’s own gas.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Slash starts with a transfer to the right network

Because the card accepts only USDC, the network you choose matters. Ethereum mainnet is the most expensive, Solana is the cheapest, and the L2s on the “coming soon” list would sit in between once they arrive. As a rule of thumb, sending USDC on a network Slash does not support is the single most common way to lose money with cards like this: blockchain transfers are irreversible, and a deposit sent to the wrong address or on the wrong chain is, in the worst case, unrecoverable. I would not send any USDC to a Slash address without confirming the network inside the app first, and I would start with a small test transfer.

There is no mention of withdrawing from the card back to a bank account, so I have assumed the card does not offer a fiat off-ramp. If you need to cash out, you would have to send USDC from your Slash balance to an external wallet and then use an exchange, which is outside Slash’s scope.

Paying with it every day

In Japan, Slash works the way you would expect a Visa to work. You can tap the card at a shop, pay at an online checkout, and freeze the card in the app if it goes missing. The virtual card is issued immediately after KYC, so you can start paying online the same day you verify. The physical card is for the times you need to hand over plastic, and you can order multiple cards of either type.

What is not stated is just as telling. Apple Pay and Google Pay support are not confirmed on the official pages, even though both are common on competing cards. The blocked merchant category code list is not published, which means you do not know in advance whether a specific type of shop will be declined. Help centre categories exist for issuance, usage and terms, but I could not find a published dispute process or a clear answer on chargebacks, so the safety net for “I paid but got nothing” is not described in the public material. The support address is [email protected] and the help centre lives at slash-card.zendesk.com; the site is in Japanese, hours and other languages are not stated.

The upside is the day-to-day mechanics. A virtual card that arrives the moment you finish KYC is genuinely useful, and being able to freeze it from the app is a basic safeguard that Slash has in place. The downside is what is missing: no tokenised mobile wallet mentioned, no MCC list, no dispute process described. For a card that asks you to hold a stablecoin balance, that asymmetry is uncomfortable.

What can go wrong

Three things to keep in mind before you commit any USDC to a Slash balance.

1. Counterparty risk. A stablecoin card is only as safe as the company behind it, and the company here is young. The press release places the issuer as Iquitous (iKitas) Inc., the programme manager as Slash Vision Pte. Ltd. (Singapore), and Orico as the BIN sponsor and brand support. The card brand carries Slash Vision’s copyright 2026. The Visa programme sits on a Japanese BIN, and the press release points to compliance with Japan’s Installment Sales Act and the Act on Prevention of Transfer of Criminal Proceeds, plus international AML standards, but the licences, the regulator, and the custody model are not stated on the site. Independent reviews on Trustpilot and Reddit have not surfaced, and the launch slipped from an earlier 2025 target to 20 April 2026. None of that is damning on its own, but it is thin.

2. Operational risk. Programmes get closed. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX in November 2022, and WaveCrest-issued Visa programmes in Europe were suspended by Visa in 2018, closing every card on the programme. In both cases the cardholders had to withdraw balances inside a notice window, and any feature they were using stopped working. If Slash changes direction, the same logic applies: a notice period, then a cutoff, then a balance withdrawal. Keep your balance small enough that you can move it quickly if the programme ends.

3. Stablecoin and network risk. USDC is the largest regulated dollar stablecoin, and Circle publishes monthly reserve attestations, but stablecoins can depeg. TerraUSD collapsed in May 2022 and USDC briefly lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking stress. Sending USDC on a network Slash does not support, or to a wrong-network address, can mean a permanent loss because the transfer is irreversible. If you choose Ethereum for the top-up, you also need ETH to pay gas; a wallet with USDC but no ETH cannot send. Custody is not described on the site, so I cannot tell you who holds the private keys to your balance.

None of these is unique to Slash, and none is a reason to refuse the card on its own. They are reasons to size the balance carefully, to read the freeze and dispute process as soon as you sign up, and to keep a way to move your USDC out of Slash quickly if you need to.

What to take instead

Slash is the right card for a narrow audience, so the alternatives below each fit a different kind of reader. I have picked cards I have covered in their own reviews; the marks are from those reviews and are not comparable to Slash’s 4.6.

MetaMask Card (7.1 / 10). Mastercard issued by Monovate, with the card provider Crypto Life. Sign-up is open in 45 listed countries and territories; the list includes much of Europe and Latin America, with US and UK sign-ups temporarily closed per the FAQ. The card spends directly from a connected wallet on Linea, Base, Monad or Solana, using mUSD, USDC, USDT and others. The Virtual tier is free, with no annual or maintenance fee; the Metal tier is $199 a year. Cashback is paid in mUSD: 1% on Virtual, 3% on Metal up to the first $10,000 spent in a year, then 1%. If Slash’s residency rule and missing fee table rule it out for you, MetaMask is the more international option with a published cost structure.

KAST (6.1 / 10). Visa, up to 10 cards per user, account balance in USD with stablecoin deposits converted 1:1 at 0% spread. Eligibility is a country list shown only at KYC; the FAQ is explicit that citizenship and ID matter, that VPN does not bypass the check, and that an unsupported country can still create an account but cannot pass KYC. Pricing is multi-tiered: Standard is free with a 0 USD annual fee, Premium 1,000 USD a year, Private 10,000 USD a year. Stablecoin top-up is 0%, USD spending is 0%, but non-USD foreign exchange is 0.5% to 1.75% depending on the country of residence, the country of the merchant and the card programme, so the FX fee is published, which is the first thing Slash is missing. Standard cashback is 1.5% on the first 2,000 USD a month; Premium 2% on 10,000 USD; Private 3% on 40,000 USD. If you are willing to pay for a tier and want a published fee schedule, KAST is the cleaner read.

TokenPocket (5.8 / 10). A Visa debit for a list of European countries and a Mastercard debit for Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan, Singapore, the UK and others; the Americas are listed as planned. Balances are in EUR24 and USD24, the cards run on Arbitrum, and Fiat24 cards are virtual only. TokenPocket covers part of the NFT creation fee; the rest is “a small portion” the user pays, and the site says no additional fees are charged beyond that and a 1% deposit fee (later refunded via rewards). FX fee and inter-bank settlement extras are not quantified. If you already live in the TokenPocket wallet and want a simple European card, it is the easiest path; if you are outside its country list, the card is not available to you.

Card Score Card network Where you can get it Cashback Standing-out cost
Slash 4.6 / 10 Visa Japan residents 18+ Not stated Conversion / FX fee not stated
MetaMask Card 7.1 / 10 Mastercard 45 listed countries and territories Virtual 1%, Metal 3% to $10k then 1% Metal $199/year, Virtual free
KAST 6.1 / 10 Visa Country list shown only at KYC 1.5% to 3% by tier Premium 1,000 USD/year, Private 10,000 USD/year
TokenPocket 5.8 / 10 Visa / Mastercard EU list, plus selected APAC markets None stated 1% deposit fee, later refunded

If you are in Japan and want to spend USDC today, Slash is the only card on this list that fits. If you are outside Japan, MetaMask is the broadest in reach, KAST is the clearest in pricing, and TokenPocket is the wallet-native option.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend Slash to a Japan resident aged 18 or above who already holds USDC, is comfortable with the two supported networks (Solana and Ethereum), and wants a Visa to spend that balance at home without converting to yen first. The instant virtual card is genuinely useful for online checkouts, the freeze-in-app feature is a basic safety net, and the launch deal on the physical card (35 USDC) is reasonable.

I would steer other readers away. If you do not live in Japan, the card is not available to you. If you want published conversion or foreign-spend fees, Slash does not have them. If you want Apple Pay or Google Pay, the site does not confirm support. If you want a cashback percentage in writing, the official page says “coming soon”. If you want a published dispute or chargeback process, the help centre is in Japanese and the articles are not exhaustive. And if you want a card that is several years old with a deep review base, Slash launched to the general public only in mid-October 2026.

The honest summary: Slash is a real product doing a real thing, but it is doing that thing for a small audience, and the rest of the card is still in the “coming soon” stage. Treat it as a niche tool, not as an everyday account, and keep enough USDC outside the app that you are not stuck if anything changes.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Slash card?

Slash is a Visa payment card issued in Japan that draws on a USDC stablecoin balance held in the Slash App. The cardholder tops up USDC on Solana or Ethereum, and the merchant receives yen or another fiat at the till. Slash is positioned by the company as Japan’s first credit card usable with stablecoins.

How does the Slash card work?

You complete identity verification inside the Slash App, then issue a virtual card instantly or order a physical card. The card is funded by USDC; the conversion from USDC to the merchant’s currency happens at the moment of payment, and the rate and any fee on top are not published on the official pages.

Is Slash a bank?

No. Slash is a payment card programme. The card issuer is Iquitous (iKitas) Inc., the programme manager is Slash Vision Pte. Ltd. (Singapore), and Orico is the BIN sponsor and international brand support. Customer funds are not the same as a bank deposit and would not be covered by a deposit guarantee scheme.

Who owns Slash?

The brand is held by Slash Vision Pte. Ltd., a Singapore company (copyright 2026, slash.vision). The card is issued by Iquitous and runs on a Visa BIN sponsored by Orico. Issuing licences and the regulator are not stated on the public pages.

Is the Slash card available in my country?

Slash is open to residents of Japan aged 18 or above; physical cards are delivered inside Japan. The site does not describe a route for non-residents, and there is no list of additional supported countries. If you do not live in Japan, the card is not currently available to you.

How do I apply for the Slash card?

Download the Slash App, complete Japanese identity verification (honnin kakunin), and then issue a virtual or physical card. Press coverage mentions a driver’s licence and biometric authentication; the proof-of-address requirement and the full document list are not stated, and a CoinPost report from October 2026 says the driver’s licence route is now open to the general public.

Does the Slash card require KYC?

Yes. The Slash App runs identity verification in line with Japanese honnin kakunin rules. The site describes a single verification step rather than a tiered structure, so the limits and features are the same for every verified user.

How do I top up the Slash card?

In the Slash App, send USDC to the address shown, on either Solana or Ethereum. Base, Arbitrum and HyperEVM are listed as “coming soon”. There is no stated fiat top-up, no minimum top-up figure, and no published top-up fee, so the only fee on a deposit is the blockchain’s own gas.

Is the Slash card free?

Account opening is free, the annual fee is free in year one, and a virtual card costs 20 USDC. A physical card costs 70 USDC, with a launch campaign price of 35 USDC, and the annual fee is 20 USDC from year two. The conversion or foreign-spend fee, which is the most important number for a stablecoin card, is not stated.

Is the Slash card safe?

Slash is positioned as compliant with Japan’s Installment Sales Act, the Act on Prevention of Transfer of Criminal Proceeds, and international AML standards, and the card can be frozen in the app if lost or stolen. The custody model, the licences, the dispute process, and the regulator are not stated on the public pages, and the product is new, so the safety case rests on the partners named in the press release and the freeze-in-app feature rather than on a long review history. Treat any balance as funds you can afford to leave with a single counterparty.

Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team