Wayex card review: a free digital Visa that spends from your stablecoin balance
The Wayex card is one of a small but growing group of payment cards that draws on a crypto balance rather than a bank account. The marketing pitch is simple: hold dollars as stablecoins, spend them anywhere Visa is taken, and pay nothing for the digital card or the account. That pitch is largely accurate, and the price is genuinely hard to beat. What the marketing is less forthcoming about is who can actually get the card, what you will pay when you spend in something other than US dollars, and what happens when something goes wrong. This review walks through all of that.
I am not a Wayex customer and I have not applied for or used the card. Everything below comes from the Wayex website, the help centre, the terms of service, and what other users are saying in public. I checked those sources on 20 October 2026.
The conditions described here are current as of October 28, 2026.
Verdict: 7.5 out of 10
Wayex does one thing well and charges almost nothing for it: it turns a stablecoin balance into a Visa you can tap in a shop or pay with online. The free digital card and the absence of monthly fees are real, and the underlying bank and network are legitimate names rather than unknowns. The card loses points because the public pages are vague about who can apply, what the foreign-exchange fee is for non-USD spending, what daily and monthly limits apply on the global product, and what recourse you have if a payment goes wrong. As an everyday debit card for someone whose money already lives in USDC, USDT, DAI or PYUSD, it is a sensible option. As a first card for someone new to crypto, the missing detail is a problem.
| Criterion | Mark | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Who can get it | 5 / 10 | Live in 18+ regions today, with expansion to 100+; excluded countries and citizenship or residence rules are not stated in plain language |
| Cost | 9 / 10 | Digital card free, no account opening or monthly fee, “0% on USD spending”; physical card and FX for non-USD are not stated |
| Top-up options | 9 / 10 | DAI, USDT, USDC and PYUSD across “10+ blockchains”, plus fiat in USD, EUR and others; the blockchains themselves are not named |
| Reliability and complaints | 7 / 10 | Card issued by Lead Bank under a Visa U.S.A. Inc. licence, programme run by Bridge Ventures LLC; Trustpilot at 3.9 out of 5 across 61 reviews, with complaints about verification blocks and slow payments |
| Everyday use | 8 / 10 | Free digital Visa, physical card where supported, Apple Pay and Google Pay; ATM access for the global card is not stated |
| Total | 7.5 / 10 |
If you already hold dollars in stablecoins and you want a free, well-known card to spend them with, Wayex is one of the stronger options on the market. If you are new to crypto, you will need to do more reading than you should have to.
Who they will give the card to
The single most-asked question about Wayex, judging by the searches people run, is whether it works in their country. The honest answer is: the public pages do not say. Wayex writes that the card is “live in 18+ regions today” and that it is expanding to “100+ regions”, but the names of the regions are not on the homepage or the main product pages that I read. That is the first thing to check before you spend any time on the rest of this review: is your country on Wayex’s supported list right now, today, in the app or on the sign-up form? If it is not, the rest is academic.
The terms are clearer about who is excluded. You cannot be located in, or be a citizen or resident of, any country sanctioned by the UN, FATF, the European Union or the United States (OFAC). You also cannot be in a jurisdiction that bars crypto services. The terms do not list the specific countries covered by those references, because those lists change and the operator does not want to maintain a separate, second copy. If you have any reason to think you might be caught by one of those lists, the answer is “no” until Wayex says otherwise.
The app itself is downloadable in 160+ countries. That is not the same as the card being usable in 160+ countries. It is a clue that the sign-up flow can be opened almost anywhere, with the country check happening later in the process. A third-party review (CoinCodeCap, February 2026) describes the underlying product as Australia-only at core, with the 160-country footprint presented as an early rollout. Treat that as unofficial and not confirmed by Wayex itself: the public materials are deliberately quiet on this point.
Two practical points. First, the citizenship rule is broader than the residence rule. Even if you live somewhere Wayex serves, holding a passport from a sanctioned country can be a problem, and the application will probably ask. Second, you must be 18 or older; no level-based limits or higher tiers for age are described on the pages I read.
How to get it
The sign-up flow is the same as for any other modern fintech. You download the iOS or Android app, create an account, and complete the KYC, which Wayex markets as “as little as 2 minutes”. The documents you need are not specified on the public pages. In practice that usually means a government-issued photo ID and a selfie or short video, but you should expect the system to ask for proof of address if anything is unclear, and to keep a scan of a recent utility bill or bank statement handy just in case.
The card itself is a Visa Debit in the prepaid sense: it spends from a stored balance rather than from a bank account you keep somewhere else. The digital card is free. The physical card is “where supported”, and the price for the global product is not on the main site. The help centre for the Australian product lists AUD 14.99 for the physical card and delivery, with replacement for lost, stolen or expired cards free. The same help centre does not say what the global physical card costs or how long it takes to arrive. Once again, you will have to find that out in the app.
Your balance is held in USDB, a tokenised dollar that Wayex says is always 1:1 with a US dollar. The card spends from that balance in fiat, so when you tap to pay for a coffee the merchant sees a normal Visa transaction in a normal currency and never sees that stablecoins were involved. That is the whole point.
Two things to keep in mind during sign-up. First, rejection reasons are not stated. If you are turned down, you may not get a clear answer; the help centre simply says the decision is final. Second, the terms put disputes into binding arbitration in Panama City, in English. That is unusual for a card issued under a US bank and licensed by Visa, and it is worth knowing before you start.
Fees: what it really costs
The pricing story is mostly good, and the parts that are not stated are the parts to watch.

| Fee or limit | What Wayex says |
|---|---|
| Account opening | Free |
| Monthly fee | None |
| Digital card | Free |
| Physical card | Not stated on the main site (AUD 14.99 on the Australian help centre) |
| Spending in USD | 0% |
| Foreign-exchange fee for non-USD | Not stated |
| Crypto conversion fee | Not stated |
| ATM withdrawal | Not stated on the main site |
| Daily and monthly limits | Not stated on the main site |
The headline “0% on USD spending” is genuine. If you load USDB and spend in US dollars anywhere in the world, there is no Wayex fee on top of the network’s exchange rate. That is rare. The help centre for the Australian product goes further and says there are “no foreign exchange fees on Wayex”, but that is the AUD-denominated Australian product, not the global Visa card, and the two should not be conflated. The global product’s FX fee is the biggest open question, and the place where the 9/10 cost score would slip if Wayex ever published a number.
There are no monthly fees, no account opening fee, and no tiered plans. You do not have to subscribe to anything. The only fine print is in the site footer, which says “Fees may apply”, and that is exactly the kind of line that a regulator or a curious customer will want to see expanded.
A few everyday payments to think through.
Paying a USD-denominated bill online. The cleanest case. You load USDB, you spend dollars, no Wayex fee, the network rate is the network rate. This is the case the marketing is built around, and it works.
Buying something in euros or pounds on a UK or European website. Your balance is in USDB, the merchant wants euros, and Wayex has to convert. The Wayex fee for that conversion is not stated. There will be a Visa or Mastercard wholesale exchange rate either way, but the markup on top of that is hidden. This is the fee that matters for anyone outside the US, and it is the fee the public pages refuse to put a number on.
Withdrawing local currency from an ATM while travelling. On the Australian product, ATM withdrawals work only in Australia, with no Wayex fee (the ATM operator’s own fee still applies) and a AUD 1,000 daily cap. Overseas ATM is not supported on that product. The same rules are not confirmed for the global Visa card. If you need a card that reliably pulls cash out abroad, Wayex is the wrong card to plan around until those numbers are published.
Top up: how to fund the card
Top-ups come in two flavours: stablecoins and fiat.

On the stablecoin side, Wayex accepts DAI, USDT, USDC and PYUSD across what it calls “10+ blockchains”. The blockchains themselves are not named in the marketing copy, which is the second time the company has left a key list out of the public materials. Circle’s USDC, for example, runs on dozens of networks and Tether’s USDT on a similar number, and they are not interchangeable: sending USDC on a network the card does not support is the single most common way to lose money in this category, because blockchain transfers are not reversible. Treat the in-app deposit screen as the source of truth and do not send anything until you have confirmed both the token and the network.
On the fiat side, the help centre lists deposits in USD, EUR, GBP, MXN and BRL. The Australian help-centre page (dated 12 August 2026) says crypto deposits from inside Wayex are free, with network and gas fees still charged by the blockchain itself; AUD deposits carry no Wayex fee and there is no deposit limit. The global product’s minimum top-up is not stated. The same page says crypto withdrawals out of Wayex attract only the network fee, while AUD cash-outs are free within the AUD 100,000 per cash-out maximum and AUD 10 minimum.
The full list of cash-out rails is “where supported” and includes PIX (Brazil), SPEI (Mexico), Faster Payments (UK), SEPA (Europe), Wire and ACH, with ACH and Wire confirmed as enabled. Fees and settlement times for those rails are not on the main site. The terms also include a line you do not often see: “We may withhold withdrawals pending further investigation.” It is not a threat, but it is a reminder that the operator can pause your money if a check turns up something it wants to look at.
Yield, if you want to call it that, is separate from the card fees. Wayex’s “Everyday Yield” pays up to 5% on liquid stablecoin balances, and a “Fixed-Term Deposits” product through Kasu is advertised at up to 20% but marked as coming soon. The card itself has no cashback. These are account features, not card features.
Paying with it every day
In normal use, the card behaves like any other Visa Debit. You can add it to Apple Pay or Google Pay, which on the global product is the only way to get the digital card into a wallet. The help centre does not publish a list of merchant categories the card is blocked from, so I cannot tell you whether gambling, crypto purchases, or adult merchants will be declined in advance. If those matter to you, the right move is a small test transaction before relying on the card.
There is no cashback on spending, and no loyalty programme tied to the card. The Everyday Yield and Fixed-Term Deposit products are account features rather than spending rewards, so the way to extract value from Wayex is to keep a balance on the platform, not to spend through the card.
If something does go wrong, the help centre lists “What if I have a problem with a transaction” as a question without a published answer on the page I read. The complaints policy is more concrete: acknowledgement within three business days, resolution within 30 business days. There is no published chargeback time frame, no reference to Regulation E in the US, and no mention of strong customer authentication. Disputes are settled by binding arbitration in Panama City under the terms, which is a real constraint on the practical options if you cannot get a transaction refunded.
What can go wrong
There is no perfect way to size the risk of a young card programme, but there are a few things I would look at before putting serious money through it.
The reputation. Wayex’s Trustpilot score at the time of writing was 3.9 out of 5, from 61 reviews, with 74% five-star and 10% one-star. Trustpilot also notes that there have been no recent invitations to review, which usually means the company has paused its proactive review-requests. The themes in the negative reviews are consistent: account verification or blocks without explanation, account closures that take a long time to finalise, slow payments (one user reports a EUR 5 transfer that took more than 10 days), and minor app bugs around sign-out. The positive reviews are about ease of use, speed of sign-up, and the absence of FX fees. The company replies to every negative review, usually pointing the customer to a private support channel. There are no Reddit threads of any size about the card, which is a partial positive and a partial gap: it could mean few users, or it could mean few people bother to write about a card that just works.
The corporate setup. The card is issued by Lead Bank under a licence from Visa U.S.A. Inc., and the programme is run by Bridge Ventures LLC. Wayex itself is described as the “Platform Provider” and “not a bank”. Bridge Ventures LLC is the company you are probably contracting with for the card. Wayex’s own registration country is not publicly stated. That is a small but real point: if the platform fails, the question of which jurisdiction’s regulator and which insolvency law applies is not answered up front. Lead Bank, as the issuing bank, is regulated in the US and subject to US banking rules; the programme manager, Bridge Ventures LLC, sits elsewhere and is the operator you actually interact with.
The terms. The terms put disputes into binding arbitration in Panama City, in English, and they let Wayex withhold withdrawals pending further investigation. The help centre mentions Australian consumer-protection regulators, but those references sit on the Australian product pages, not the global ones. There is no dated licence event in the materials I read, and no published security certification.
The security story. Wayex markets “transparent custody, and optional self-custody”, encryption, 24/7 monitoring, and instant controls and alerts on the card. The exact mechanism for two-factor authentication, the rules around card freeze, and the safeguarding arrangements for customer funds are not on the pages I read. “Optional self-custody” is interesting and worth a closer look if it matters to you, but the way it interacts with the card balance is not explained in the public marketing.
The help channel. Live chat in the app or on the website, email at [email protected], and a 24/7 claim in the help centre. There is also a Telegram channel (t.me/wayexofficial), an X account, a Discord and a Reddit presence. A 24/7 chat in the app is the most useful of those for a card problem, because that is where you would go to freeze the card if it were stolen.
The systematic risks are the same as for any other crypto card and any other stablecoin-funded balance, and they are worth spelling out.
First, stablecoins are not actually stable. They are designed to hold a peg, and the largest ones by market share, USDT and USDC, generally do, but both have depegged in the past. USDC briefly lost its peg in March 2023 during the US banking crisis, and the TerraUSD collapse in May 2022 is the cautionary tale everyone in the industry still references. The Wayex marketing does not call this out.
Second, card programmes get shut down. Visa terminated its global agreements with FTX on 13 November 2022, and the FTX US debit card was wound down by its issuer. WaveCrest, a Visa issuer that supplied a number of crypto card brands, was suspended by Visa in Europe in 2018, and every WaveCrest-issued Visa programme was closed. None of this is a Wayex problem today, but it is a category problem, and a programme closure typically means a notice period, then spending stops, then you have to withdraw your balance.
Third, custodial platforms fail. The history of crypto is a long list of custodians who lost their customers’ money: Mt. Gox (around US$350 million between 2011 and 2014), Coincheck (around US$400 million in 2018), Ronin Network (US$625 million in 2022). A card that draws on a platform balance is exposed to whatever happens to that platform. The “optional self-custody” line is the way Wayex is trying to address that exposure; it is also the line that deserves the most scrutiny.
What to take instead
Wayex is not the only game in town. Three alternatives are worth a look, depending on what you actually need from a card.
International Visa Card is the option if you want a US-issued Visa that spends in US dollars. The virtual card is $5 to issue, there is no maintenance fee, and plans range from a free Classic tier to a $19 monthly Max tier. Card use in USD is free on all plans, foreign-currency spending carries the Visa exchange rate plus a 2% FX fee, and there is no fee on any kind of deposit. The downsides are residency-based: the card is not available to residents or legal registrants of a long list of countries that includes Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam, with FATF grey-list countries reviewed case by case. The physical card is described as “coming soon”. Score: 6.7 out of 10.
UNi Card is the option if multicurrency and zero FX fees matter more than the issuing bank. It runs on Mastercard, spends from a UNi.Global account balance, and the marketing line is “no annual fee or foreign transaction fee” with assets converted at “live OTC rates” and “no hidden exchange fees”. The trade-off is a Spend-to-Earn rewards rate of up to 3%, which is less generous than Wayex’s yield on the balance, and a thinner public information set: the card’s availability and the funding rails are not publicly disclosed. Score: 6.1 out of 10.
Whop Cards is the option if the 5% cashback at selected merchants is what you want. The cards are Visa-branded, can be issued to team members, and the cashback is currently at Uber, with more merchants planned. The consumer footprint is 31 US states, the business footprint 41 states, and the unsupported country list is long (Belarus, China mainland, Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam, with Russia and Belarus unsupported for corporate cards). Whop says there are “no extra fees”, but the conversion and FX fee amounts are not published. Score: 5.2 out of 10.
| Card | Network | Best for | Main cost | Mark |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wayex | Visa | Stablecoin holders wanting a free digital Visa | Free digital card, 0% on USD spending, FX not stated | 7.5 |
| International Visa Card | Visa | US-dollar spending, US-issued | $5 issuance, 2% FX | 6.7 |
| UNi Card | Mastercard | Multicurrency, no FX | “No annual or FX fee”, up to 3% rewards | 6.1 |
| Whop Cards | Visa | US-centric cashback | “No extra fees”, amounts not published | 5.2 |
Who I would recommend it to
The clearest case for Wayex is the one the company itself has in mind: someone who already holds dollars in USDC, USDT, DAI or PYUSD, who lives in one of the regions where the card is actually live, and who wants a free Visa to spend that balance without first cashing out to a bank. For that person, Wayex is hard to beat on price. The 0% USD spending line is real, the digital card is free, and the network and bank are names you can verify.
The case against is the missing detail. If you spend in anything other than US dollars, the fee is not published. If you want a physical card, the price is not on the main site. If you want a daily or monthly limit, it is not on the main site. If you want to know whether your country is supported, the answer is “try the sign-up form”. If you want a chargeback time frame, it is not in the help centre. If you care about the jurisdiction of the operator, the materials do not say. Each of these is a small thing, and Wayex may publish them in the app or in the help-centre pages I did not read; taken together, they make Wayex a card to use carefully rather than a card to load up.
If you are new to crypto, this is not the card to start with. The whole point of the product is to spend dollars you already hold in stablecoins, and if you do not already hold them, the steps to get them into Wayex involve networks and addresses that are easy to get wrong. Pick a fiat on-ramp first, get comfortable with the idea of a stablecoin, and come back to Wayex when you understand the deposit flow.
If you are somewhere in the 18-regions-but-not-yet-100 footprint, sign up for the waitlist rather than assuming. The expansion page is the cleanest place to leave your details, and there is no point filling in KYC if your country is not in the active set.
If you are a heavy non-USD spender, keep your expectations modest. The 0% USD line is genuine, and the rest of the fees are not stated. Use the card in dollars, watch the statement closely the first time you use it in another currency, and do not put the whole monthly budget through it until you have seen a real foreign-currency transaction clear.
If you are worried about the platform risk, the right question is what “optional self-custody” actually means in practice. The marketing line is the only place I saw it, and the way it interacts with the card balance is not described. Ask support before you commit a large balance.
For the rest of us — a stablecoin holder with a working sign-up, comfortable with US-dollar spending and not planning to rely on a physical card or an ATM abroad — Wayex is a sensible, well-priced option. The 7.5 is honest: it is not a 9 because the missing fees matter, and it is not a 6 because the free digital card, the real bank and network behind it, and the 0% USD spending line are all genuinely useful.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Wayex card?
The Wayex card is a Visa Debit card that spends from a balance called USDB, which Wayex says is always equal to one US dollar. The card comes as a free digital version and, where supported, a physical version. It is issued by Lead Bank under a Visa U.S.A. Inc. licence, with the programme run by Bridge Ventures LLC.
How does the Wayex card work?
You fund the card by depositing stablecoins (DAI, USDT, USDC or PYUSD) on one of the supported blockchains, or by sending fiat in supported currencies. Wayex credits your USDB balance at 1:1. When you pay, the card draws on that balance in the merchant’s currency, with the conversion handled in the background. Apple Pay and Google Pay are supported.
Is Wayex a bank?
No. Wayex describes itself as the “Platform Provider” and “not a bank”. The card itself is issued by Lead Bank, a US bank, under a Visa U.S.A. Inc. licence. Bridge Ventures LLC runs the programme.
Who owns Wayex?
The materials I read do not give a public owner. What is on the public record is that Bridge Ventures LLC is the programme manager, Lead Bank is the issuing bank, and Visa U.S.A. Inc. licenses the network. Wayex’s own registration country is not stated.
Is the Wayex card available in my country?
Wayex writes that the card is “live in 18+ regions today” and is expanding to “100+ regions”, but the list of regions is not on the public pages. The app is downloadable in 160+ countries. The sign-up form is the most reliable way to find out whether your country is currently supported.
How do I get a Wayex card?
Download the iOS or Android app, create an account, complete the KYC (Wayex markets this as “as little as 2 minutes”), and order the card from inside the app. The digital card is free. The physical card is “where supported” and the price is not on the main site.
Does the Wayex card require KYC?
Yes. You will need to verify your identity before the card can be used. Wayex says KYC can take as little as two minutes, but the documents required are not specified in the public pages, and additional documents such as proof of address may be requested later.
How do I top up the Wayex card?
Inside the app, choose to deposit stablecoins or fiat. For stablecoins, the app shows the supported tokens and the supported networks; you should never send tokens on a network that is not listed. For fiat, deposits are supported in USD, EUR, GBP, MXN and BRL. The network fee for the blockchain is charged by the network itself, not by Wayex.
Is the Wayex card free?
The digital card is free, account opening is free, and there is no monthly fee. Spending in US dollars carries no Wayex fee. The cost of the physical card on the global product is not on the main site. Foreign-exchange fees for non-USD spending are not published on the main site. ATM fees and limits for the global product are not published on the main site.
How do I add the Wayex card to Apple Wallet?
Once the digital card is issued, the app provides the standard Apple Pay enrolment flow. The actual card number is replaced with a device-specific number stored on the device, and each payment uses a one-time code, so the real PAN is not held on Apple servers.
Is the Wayex card safe?
The card is issued by a regulated US bank under a Visa licence, and Wayex markets encryption, 24/7 monitoring, instant alerts and “optional self-custody”. The exact mechanism for two-factor authentication, the rules for card freeze, and the safeguarding arrangements for customer funds are not on the pages I read. The terms let Wayex withhold withdrawals pending further investigation, and disputes are settled by binding arbitration in Panama City.
How do I close my Wayex account?
The help centre references account closure as a process users have requested, with delays reported by some users. There is no public walk-through of the closure flow on the pages I read, and the support team is the right place to start.
App and neobank cards put to the test – cryptocardtested
Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team
