Fizen, tested line by line: a crypto-funded Visa card that costs more than it first appears

Updated October 2026
Licensed
usAvailable in US
Fast payouts
18+ Only
A payment card next to a phone with a crypto wallet app open

The Fizen card is a USD Visa prepaid card that you fund with USDT rather than from a bank account. That single sentence tells you most of what matters. It is not a bank card, it is not issued by a bank you could complain to a regulator about, and every dollar on it arrived there as crypto at some point. Used that way it does something genuinely useful: it gives you a Visa number that spends like an ordinary card, topped up from a stablecoin balance. Used as though it were a normal everyday card, it is thinner than it looks — several fees are buried in a documentation table rather than on the front page, the physical metal cards do not exist yet, and the company behind it is not a regulated financial institution in the ordinary sense.

Fizen works as a payment card spent from a crypto balance

If you are holding stablecoins, want a Visa number that works at shops and online, and can live with a custodial balance and a Hong Kong company holding the other end of it, the Fizen is a reasonable tool. If you want a card that a bank stands behind, with deposit protection and no crypto in the chain at all, it is not that, and no card in this category is.

The conditions described below are current as of October 28, 2026.

Verdict: 6.4 out of 10

Here is the score broken down by what I judged, criterion by criterion, with the reasons in plain words.

A phone showing a stablecoin transfer screen
Topping up Fizen starts with a transfer to the right network
Criterion Mark Why
Who can get it 8 / 10 Not available in 43 countries (including Russian Federation, Belarus, Serbia, India, China, Iran, Ukraine among others); usable in 160+ countries
Cost 6 / 10 Adventure issuance $9.99; $0 servicing if you spend $500 or more, otherwise $1.50; FX 1%; crypto conversion 0.5%; card closure $2.00; ATM $2 + 1.5%
Top-up options 6 / 10 USDT to a Fizen-controlled wallet; QR Pay top-up accepts only USDT on Solana or BNB Chain; fiat through Transak
Reliability and complaints 6 / 10 Fizen Limited, Hong Kong; not a bank or payment institution; the issuer is not named in the terms; Tether investment from 30 July 2026; Trustpilot 4.1 out of 5
Everyday use 5 / 10 Virtual Visa immediately, Apple Pay and Google Pay; metal card still “Coming soon”; physical card: first ATM withdrawal up to $200 a month free
Total 6.4 / 10

The pattern behind the total is clear. Where the card is being judged on mechanics — how to get it, what it costs, whether it works in a shop — it does reasonably well. Where it is judged on the thing that usually sinks cards in this category, namely who is standing behind your money and what happens when something goes wrong, it is middling, because the structure is custodial and the supporting institution is not a bank. The 6 is not a complaint; it is a description of a card that works exactly as designed, for a specific person, and is not trying to be anything else.

Who this suits: someone who already holds USDT, wants a USD Visa card rather than a crypto-native one, and thinks in terms of “my balance, my fees” rather than “my bank, my protection.” Who it does not suit: anyone whose first question is what happens to the money if the company disappears, anyone who needs a card in the currency they actually spend in, and anyone in one of the excluded countries.

Will they give you the card

The card page claims use in “160+ countries”, which is a much more attractive sentence than the one that follows it. Fizen Card is not available in 43 countries, and the named list includes the Russian Federation, Belarus, Serbia, India, China (Mainland), Croatia, Slovenia, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Iran, Ukraine and Venezuela among others. Georgia, Turkey, Kazakhstan, Armenia and the UAE are not on that restricted list, though the card does not publish a corresponding supported list either. There is no full country list on the public card page; the count is what the page says.

What the terms add is narrower and firmer than any country list. You cannot be a citizen, a resident, or located in a jurisdiction where the service is prohibited or under comprehensive sanctions (clauses 5.1–5.2). Citizenship counts separately from where you live, which is the detail that trips people up. There is an exception path: if you are a citizen of a restricted country but currently live in a supported one, you may still be eligible. I did not read the exceptions page in full, so treat that as the shape of the policy rather than the whole of it.

The practical question for anyone reading this is not “which countries are allowed” but “what happens if I am in one of them”. The honest answer is that the service is not offered there and the terms prohibit it, and I am not going to describe how to get around that. If your country is on the restricted list, the honest answer is that this is not your card.

How to get it

The route is short: the app, then the wallet, then get the card, with a sign-up link on the card page. The application takes 5 minutes and the virtual card is issued instantly. That is genuinely one of the better onboarding experiences in this category, and it is worth saying so plainly before the caveats.

The caveats are about what is not stated. The card page does not say which documents you will need. The terms say some services require KYC “at the level each Service requires”, and that eligibility is checked at onboarding and on an ongoing basis — that ongoing part is the one to sit with. It covers KYC, IP, device and location, which means the checks do not stop at sign-up. A minimum age is not stated on the card page. Levels, documents, processing time and the reasons a particular application might be rejected are also not stated, so you cannot predict from the outside what will be asked of you or how long it will take if something goes wrong.

The card itself: Fizen Card is Visa. The card terms are titled “USD Visa Prepaid Card”, so it spends in dollars. Adventure is virtual. Pioneer and Frontier are meant to be physical metal cards and are marked “coming soon” — which, as of the date above, they still were. The network and the card currency are not stated on the card page, though the terms say the issuer is a regulated institution “under licence from Visa”. The physical card’s delivery countries, delivery time, delivery cost and replacement cost are all not stated.

So the honest summary of this section: getting the virtual card is fast and easy; getting a metal card is not currently possible; and the fine print on who qualifies and what will be asked of you is thinner than you might expect from a financial product.

Fees: what it really costs

Fees are where a Fizen card most easily surprises you, because the front page and the documentation table do not tell quite the same story. Here is the official table of what the card actually charges.

A receipt and a card on a café table
What a Fizen payment costs depends on the conversion and currency fees
Fee or limit Amount
Virtual card issuance $9.99 (free for pre-registered users)
Monthly maintenance $0 if spending ≥ $500, $1.50 if under (free first month)
FX fee 1% on payments billed in a non-USD currency, 0% on USD payments
Crypto-to-fiat conversion 0.5% standard
Small transaction fee $0.50 on transactions under $50
ATM $2 + 1.5%
Closing the card $2.00

Two limits sit alongside these: per-transaction $150,000, daily spending $1,000,000, and monthly spending $1,000,000. Note what “daily spending” and “monthly spending” are both set at the same figure; if you are planning anything large, that ceiling is worth re-reading before you commit.

Two fees are contested in the card’s own materials, and I would rather show you the discrepancy than pick a side. The card page advertises “0 crypto-to-fiat conversion fees” and “0 top-up fees within plan limits” for Adventure. The documentation table lists a standard crypto-to-fiat conversion of 0.5%. The most likely reading is that the card page is describing the Adventure tier’s included allowance and the table is the standard rate, but the card does not say that in so many words. Plan what to do assuming 0.5% applies.

Now, three everyday payments, so the fees stop being abstract.

A coffee costing $4 in a shop in your own country, paid in dollars. No FX fee, because the payment is in USD. The crypto conversion fee does not bite, because the money was already converted when you loaded the card. Total cost: nothing beyond whatever you spent. This is the case Fizen handles most cleanly.

The same coffee, but the shop is in eurozone Europe and charges you in euros. The 1% FX fee applies on top of whatever the Visa exchange rate does, and you should read “on top of” as literal: the rate the card network gives you is not the mid-market rate. This is where the “160+ countries” figure starts to cost money rather than earn it. A person who spends mostly in one non-dollar currency is paying a premium on every single transaction.

A $12 app subscription. Here the $0.50 small transaction fee under $50 is the one that catches people out, and it applies to small payments. Several subscriptions under that threshold add up to a real drag. The card’s own terms note that some fees are waived by card benefits, which is welcome but not something to plan around.

Two more things belong near the price list. The Adventure tier is $9.99 to open and is open now; Pioneer is $999.99 and Frontier $9999, both marked coming soon, which is a large cheque to write for a card that does not yet exist. And the tier benefits are real but modest: Adventure includes Scan-to-Pay, eSIM/hotel/flight discounts and cashback, zero trading fee on US stocks and ETFs for the first $5,000, a 5% APR bonus on the USDT Vault, a free ATM quota and priority support; Pioneer adds the metal card and a 10% APR bonus with higher FiPoint cashback; Frontier goes to 20% and adds 100+ card skins, also “coming soon”. The FiPoint cashback rate is not stated anywhere I could find.

ATM deserves its own line because it is the one place the cost curve turns steep. The physical card’s ATM withdrawal costs $2 plus 1.5%, with the first withdrawal up to $200 a month free. ATM limits are $100,000 a day, $200,000 a month, 3 per day and 30 per month. Treat the ATM as a convenience, not a service — at those numbers, withdrawing cash is the most expensive thing this card does.

How to top it up

The funding model is the thing to understand before you sign up. You do not load money onto a card; you transfer USDT to a wallet that Fizen controls (terms clause 3.2), and the card spends against that balance. Fizen says it is non-custodial for the wallet and swap parts — the private key is generated on your device, encrypted locally, and Fizen says it cannot recover it — but the card balance itself is custodial, pooled on Fizen’s internal ledger. Those are two different arrangements under one roof, and knowing which part of the product you are in matters when you are deciding what to keep on it.

Fiat on and off-ramps go through third parties such as Transak (clauses 2.2, 3.1). The QR Pay product is funded only with USDT on the Solana or BNB Chain networks. That is narrower than it sounds: other networks or tokens sent there can be permanently lost. The terms are reasonably honest about this in the withdrawal clause — QR Pay balance can be discharged by withdrawal where available, Fizen says it will provide a reasonable method, and it may ask for identity verification, source of funds or a verified destination address (clauses 3.3, 16). The terms also say the QR Pay balance will not be forfeited solely because your access is suspended or terminated, and that wallet assets stay on-chain after you stop using the platform. Those are reassuring sentences, and they are sentences, not a guarantee.

The minimum top-up is not stated. The fee schedule has no top-up fee line, though the card page claims zero top-up fees within plan limits. Network fees go to validators, not to Fizen — which is standard, but it means a top-up costs you a small amount over the amount you sent. Card balance withdrawal terms live in the Card Terms and the issuer agreement, which I did not read.

One more piece of general knowledge worth having before your first transfer, because it is the mistake people actually make: blockchain transfers are essentially irreversible. A deposit sent on a network the provider does not support, or to an address belonging to a different network, can be lost entirely, or need manual support recovery with no guarantee of success. Check the supported network before you send, not after.

Paying with it every day

The everyday experience is better than the score suggests, and the score reflects caution rather than friction. You get a virtual Visa immediately, and you can add it to Apple Pay and Google Pay. That combination — a virtual card in a mobile wallet — covers most online spending and a good deal of in-store spending without any physical card existing at all.

The QR Scan-to-Pay function works in countries including Brazil, Argentina, Peru, Vietnam and the Philippines, which is a genuinely useful detail for anyone spending in those markets. Merchant-category blocks are not stated, though the terms do prohibit use for illegal gambling and other illegal activity. That is a narrower restriction than some issuers impose; whether a given merchant code will be declined for this particular card is something the card does not tell you.

Rewards on Adventure are discounts and cashback on eSIMs, hotels and flights, plus FiPoint cashback at an unstated rate and the 5% APR bonus on the USDT Vault. A blog promotion advertised “up to 10% cashback + FiPoints on every spend” with terms and conditions applying, and there was a $10 eSIM credit offer on 19 August 2026. Read promotions as promotions: they change, they have conditions, and they are not the reason to pick a card.

The app is the Fizen Super App on iOS and Android. App Store and Google Play ratings were not found, so I cannot tell you what other users say about stability of the app itself. If something goes wrong, the terms say to report unauthorised access to [email protected] within 72 hours.

Two practical warnings about everyday use. The first is 3-D Secure: online payments may prompt for a one-time code or a biometric check, which is normal and not a sign anything is wrong. The second is declines: some merchants refuse prepaid or foreign-issued cards because the BIN lookup reveals the card type and the issuer’s country, and an address verification check is generally unavailable for foreign-issued cards, which causes declines at some merchants. If a shop declines you, that is often the reason, and it is not something you did wrong.

What can go wrong

The company is Fizen Limited, Hong Kong, company number 77059696, Unit 1411, 14/F, Cosito Tower, Queen’s Road Central. The terms state plainly that it is not a bank, an e-money institution, or a licensed payment institution. The card issuer is named only in the Issuer Cardholder Agreement, which I did not read, so I cannot tell you from the terms alone who is actually behind the Visa programme. The site says it is backed by Tether, and on 30 July 2026 Tether announced a strategic investment in Fizen, amount not disclosed.

What follows from “not a bank” is the honest risk section of this review. Custody means counterparty risk: the balance sits on Fizen’s internal ledger, and the assets of card users are pooled rather than held individually. This category has a documented history here — Mt. Gox, about US$350 million reported stolen between 2011 and 2014; Coincheck, about US$400 million in 2018; Ronin Network, US$625 million in 2022. QR Pay is weaker still: ownership of accepted assets passes to Fizen and is not segregated. And because blockchain transfers are generally irreversible, Fizen says it may reverse them “where technically possible” — a phrase that is doing a lot of work.

Complaints, honestly reported: Trustpilot shows 4.1 out of 5, and the reviews I could see were all five-star, from 21 April to 3 June 2026, with the company replying to each. One reviewer described the app as “a bit buggy” sometimes. No Reddit threads or card-specific complaints surfaced in search. Trustpilot also notes that the company “may be associated with high-risk investments”. A short, clean review history from a young product is weak evidence either way; I would not read it as a guarantee.

The recovery path is worth reading before you need it. Terms require a written Notice of Dispute to [email protected], with 60 days for a good-faith resolution, then SIAC arbitration in Singapore, class actions waived, and claims within one year. Chargebacks are not addressed in the Master Terms — the Card Terms and FAQ pages exist but I did not read them. Under US law, prepaid-card coverage varies and should not be assumed; Regulation E covers debit and Regulation Z covers credit, and a prepaid card may sit in neither.

Two further notes. The Master Terms took effect 5 June 2026, with material changes applying 30 days after notice — so the terms you sign are recent and can move. And stablecoins are not censorship-proof: Tether says it disables tokens in wallets on the OFAC sanctions list and has frozen funds tied to illicit activity. A US dollar token is dollar-denominated, not dollar-guaranteed by any bank.

What to take instead

If Fizen is not right for you, these are the alternatives worth weighing, each against the same criteria I used above.

International Visa Card — 6.7 / 10. A US-issued Platinum Visa card, virtual, paying in USD, with the physical card “Coming soon”. Issuance $5 one-time, no maintenance fee; plans Classic free, Pro $9.00 a month, Max $19.00 a month. Card use in USD is free on all plans; foreign currency is “Visa exchange rate + 2% FX fee”. Deposits of any kind carry no fee, and you can deposit USDC or USDT into the USD account at 1:1, plus USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT and FedNow. No cashback stated. The catch is eligibility: not available to residents or legal registrants of Belarus, mainland China, North Korea, Cuba, India, Iraq, Iran, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela or Vietnam, with FATF grey-list countries reviewed case by case. The rule is by residence or registration, not citizenship. Its FX fee is double Fizen’s, which is the sharpest practical difference between the two.

UNi Card — 6.1 / 10. A multicurrency card on the Mastercard network, spending from the UNi.Global account balance, with no annual fee and no foreign transaction fee; assets convert at live OTC rates with “no hidden exchange fees”, and spend-to-earn rewards up to 3%. Country eligibility, funding routes and physical/virtual form are not stated. If multicurrency is what you actually need, the zero foreign transaction fee is a bigger deal than a 1% FX fee, and it is the one card here built around holding several currencies at once.

Whop Cards — 5.2 / 10. A Visa card spending from a Whop balance, with a pending balance usable as soon as a payment arrives. The page says “No extra fees” but lists no issuance or monthly amounts, and states no conversion or FX amounts either. Cashback is 5% at select merchants, currently Uber, with payout conditions not stated. Eligibility is the narrowest of the four: 31 US states for consumers and 41 for businesses, with a long unsupported-country list including Belarus, mainland China, Cuba, Hong Kong, India, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, North Korea, Russia, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, Venezuela and Vietnam. If you are in the US outside those state lists, this is not a card for you.

Fizen International Visa UNi Whop
Score 6.4 6.7 6.1 5.2
Network Visa Visa Mastercard Visa
Funding USDT to Fizen wallet, fiat via Transak USDC/USDT, USD, EUR, SEPA, SWIFT, FedNow Not stated Whop balance from a linked wallet
Issuance $9.99 $5 one-time Not stated Not stated
Ongoing fee $0 at $500+ spend, else $1.50 $0 None Not stated
FX 1% 2% None Not stated

Two honest observations about this comparison. Only Fizen and International Visa are close competitors on the mechanics — both Visa, both USD, both crypto-adjacent funding. And the eligibility column is the real decider for most people, not the fee column.

Who I would recommend it to

I would recommend the Fizen card to someone specific: a person who already holds USDT on Solana or a network they can send from cheaply, who spends predominantly in US dollars or in countries where a QR payment is normal, who is comfortable that the balance is custodial, and who wants a Visa number in a phone wallet today rather than a metal card in the post later. For that person, $9.99, a 1% FX fee they will rarely trigger, and an instant virtual card is a good trade.

I would not recommend it to someone whose spending is mostly in a non-dollar currency — at 1% on every transaction, that fee compounds into something you notice. I would not recommend it to anyone treating it as savings: there is no deposit guarantee here because it is not a bank, and an APR bonus on a USDT vault is a promotional rate on a product whose issuer also has to stay solvent. And I would not recommend it to anyone in the 43 excluded countries, because the terms do not offer it there and I am not going to pretend otherwise.

If your situation is still unclear after all this, the fastest way to a real answer is to read the two documents that would settle it for you: the Issuer Cardholder Agreement, which names the actual issuer behind the Visa, and the Card Terms, which cover withdrawal and chargeback rights that the Master Terms leave out. Both exist. I did not read them, and I would rather say so than guess.

Frequently asked questions

What is the Fizen card?

The Fizen card is a USD Visa prepaid card funded with cryptocurrency rather than a bank account. You transfer USDT to a wallet that Fizen controls, and the card spends against that balance. It is issued by a licensed institution under Visa’s licence, but Fizen itself is a Hong Kong company that states in its terms it is not a bank or payment institution.

Is Fizen a bank?

No. The terms state that Fizen Limited, the Hong Kong company behind it, is not a bank, an e-money institution, or a licensed payment institution. The actual card issuer is named only in the issuer agreement, which is separate from the main terms. So it is best understood as a crypto platform with a card programme, not a bank with a crypto feature.

Who owns Fizen?

Fizen Limited is registered in Hong Kong, company number 77059696, at Unit 1411, 14/F, Cosco Tower, Queen’s Road Central. On 30 July 2026, Tether announced a strategic investment in Fizen, though the amount was not disclosed. The company also says it is backed by Tether on its own site.

Which countries can use the Fizen card?

The card page claims use in 160+ countries, but the card is not available in 43, including the Russian Federation, Belarus, Serbia, India, China (Mainland), Croatia, Slovenia, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Iran, Ukraine and Venezuela. The terms also bar citizens, residents and people located anywhere under comprehensive sanctions.

How do I get the Fizen card?

Download the Fizen Super App for iOS or Android, set up your wallet, then follow the sign-up link on the card page. The application takes 5 minutes and the virtual card is issued instantly. The physical metal cards for the Pioneer and Frontier tiers are marked “coming soon” and were not yet available.

Does the Fizen card require KYC?

The terms say some services require identity verification at whatever level each service requires, checked at onboarding and then on an ongoing basis covering identity, IP, device and location. The card page does not state which documents you will need or how long checks take. Being turned down is not something the public material explains in advance.

How much does the Fizen card cost?

The Adventure virtual card costs $9.99 to issue, free if you pre-registered. Servicing is $0 if you spend $500 or more in a month and $1.50 if you spend less, with the first month free. On top of that: 1% on non-dollar payments, 0.5% standard crypto-to-fiat conversion, $0.50 on transactions under $50, and $2.00 to close the card.

How do I top up the Fizen card?

You send USDT to a Fizen-controlled wallet address. The QR Pay product accepts USDT only on the Solana or BNB Chain networks — sending another token or using another network there can mean losing it permanently. If you hold ordinary fiat, the on and off-ramps go through a third party such as Transak. Always check the network before sending a transfer.

How much does using the Fizen card cost in practice?

Paying in dollars costs you nothing extra beyond what you spend. Paying in a non-dollar currency costs 1% on top of whatever rate Visa gives you. Small payments under $50 carry a $0.50 fee. ATM withdrawals on the physical card cost $2 plus 1.5%, though the first withdrawal up to $200 a month is free, so cash is the most expensive thing this card does.

Is the Fizen card safe?

It depends on what you mean. The card payments themselves go over Visa’s network, and you can freeze the card and enable two-factor authentication. But the card balance is custodial: it sits on Fizen’s internal ledger, pooled rather than held individually. Tether backs the company, and Tether has frozen funds tied to illicit activity, so a stablecoin balance is dollar-denominated but not bank-guaranteed.

Content created by the «cryptocardtested» team